Ohne Titel

Lohaus  bernd  ohne titel 1966 photo m hkacc

Bernd Lohaus

1966

Sculpture
Materials: mixed media; wood, rope

Collection: Collection M HKA, Antwerp / Donated by Isi Fiszman (Inv. no. S0576_01).

The attraction and dynamism of water and rivers in particular - the Rhine in his native town of Düsseldorf and the Scheldt in his second home city of Antwerp - have had a major impact on the work of Bernd Lohaus. In the mid-1960s, the artist began to haunt abandoned shipyards in the harbour. In addition to wooden beams, he also found thick ropes there, which he adapted and used in his sculptures in a variety of ways. Lohaus made most of the rope works between 1966 and 1968.

In the piece dating from 1966, the different elements are determined by their fundamental properties: mass, gravity, tension and load-bearing capacity. Thus, a dynamic emerges from the relationship between the various parts of the sculpture. In the work dating from 1967-1968, rope and wood create a whole in terms of form. The rope connects two wooden beams, which are completely enveloped by them. Since the ends of the rope seem to merge with the sculpture, a suggestion of infinity emerges.

The notion of connection is a recurring theme throughout Lohaus' oeuvre and is strongly present in the works with ship's rope. The properties of the rope itself - made up of different strands that are interwoven with each other - and its function to connect different elements with each other are consistent with this. The works that combine wooden components with rope create a connection between seemingly contradictory concepts: transience and robustness; weightlessness and gravity.

Ensembles View all

Actors View all

Ohne Titel

Lohaus  bernd  ohne titel 1966 photo m hkacc

Bernd Lohaus

1966

Sculpture
Materials: mixed media; wood, rope

Collection: Collection M HKA, Antwerp / Donated by Isi Fiszman (Inv. no. S0576_01).

La fascination et le dynamique de l’eau et plus particulièrement des rivières – le Rhin dans sa ville natale de Düsseldorf et l’Escaut dans son deuxième foyer à Anvers – ont eu une influence importante sur l’œuvre de Bernd Lohaus. Au milieu des années 1960, l’artiste a commencé à visiter des chantiers navals abandonnés dans le port. A part des poutres en bois, il y trouvait également des cordes épaisses qu’il traitait de manières différentes et qu’il utilisait dans ses sculptures. Lohaus a réalisé la plupart de ces œuvres avec des cordes entre 1966 et 1968.

Dans l’œuvre de 1966 les différents éléments sont déterminés par leurs caractéristiques fondamentales : masse, gravité, tension et pouvoir portant. De cette manière, une dynamique est générée à partir de la relation entre les différentes pièces de la sculpture. Dans l’œuvre de 1967-1968, les cordes et le bois créent plutôt un ensemble de forme. La corde relie deux poutres en bois, qui en sont complètement enrobées. Du fait que les bouts de la corde semblent disparaître dans la sculpture, une suggestion d’infini est créée.

L’idée de la liaison est une notion essentielle à travers toute l’œuvre de Lohaus et se manifeste d’une manière prononcée dans les œuvres avec les cordes navales. Les caractéristiques de la corde même – composée de plusieurs fils qui sont entrelacés – et leur fonction de liaisonner différents éléments se relient.  Les œuvres qui combinent des composants en bois et de la corde, créent une liaison entre des notions en apparence contradictoires : volatilité et robuste; apesanteur et lourdeur.

Ensembles View all

Actors View all