Meganeudon

Panamarenko meganeudon 1973  photo m hkacc

Panamarenko

1973

Multiple, 15.3 x 36 x 12.5 cm.
Materials: fiberglas, hout, plexi, ijzer, motor

Collection: Collection M HKA, Antwerp (Inv. no. 28/50).

Since the early 70s, Panamarenko has tried to translate the vibration mechanism of insect wings for pedal-driven light aircraft. According to Panamarenko, flapping wings could well be the most efficient form of manpower-driven flying. But while the beating wing looks simple at first glance, it is much more complex than the fixed wing or helicopter. Since a natural mechanism is missing in humans, we must, according to Panamarenko, compensate for this with a homemade design that uses our highly developed leg muscles. Different Meganeudons and Umbillies are always based on the same basic principle: between the drive and the wings, there is a spring that produces the typical flickering of insect wings. Since both wings are connected to the spring, they keep each other in balance and every wing beat is automatically followed by a spring-loaded recoil.

"I thought flapping wings could make a greater angle and thus could move more air. Because the two wings are connected to each other by means of a spring, they keep each other in balance. The wings, which look like a membrane, open up like a spring. The air that is caught in it, is subsequently pushed back by the spring-loaded recoil of the wing. That is a very efficient way of flying, but also much more complex ... ". (Panamarenko)

To demonstrate the theoretical possibility of a flight mechanism that can lift heavy weights with very wide, flapping wings, Panamarenko refers to the prehistoric dragonfly, called ‘Meganeudon', which has an enormous wingspan of 1.5 m. In the scientific reference books, however, there is no sign of the 'Meganeudon' anywhere.  There is mention of the Meganeuron, though, is situated in the carboniferous fossil age. It is a 280 to 230 million year-old precursor of today's dragonflies. Panamarenko: "It’s true, I did swap the 'r' for a 'd', to make it sound more dinosaur-like!'. Twisting objective data in order to integrate them into a new context is one of the characteristics of the happenings and Fluxus.

(Source: Morrens, P. Willemse, H., 2005. Copyright Panamarenko, Antwerp Ludion, pp 105-108)

Events View all

Ensembles View all

Actors View all

Meganeudon

Panamarenko meganeudon 1973  photo m hkacc

Panamarenko

1973

Multiple, 15.3 x 36 x 12.5 cm.
Materials: fiberglas, hout, plexi, ijzer, motor

Collection: Collection M HKA, Antwerp (Inv. no. 28/50).

Depuis le début des années 70, Panamarenko essaie de traduire le mécanisme vibratoire des ailes d'insectes en appareils volants légers entraînés par des pédales. Selon Panamarenko, les ailes qui battent pourraient bien être la forme de vol par la force humaine la plus efficace. Cependant, bien que l'aile battante semble simple à première vue, elle est nettement plus complexe que l'aile fixe ou l'hélicoptère. Etant donné qu'il manque à l'homme un mécanisme naturel, Panamarenko pense que nous devons le compenser par une structure réalisée par nos soins et utilisant les muscles de nos jambes, fortement développés. Les différents Meganeudons et Umbilly’s partent toujours de la même réflexion de base : entre l'entraînement et les ailes, un ressort produit la vibration typique des ailes d'insectes. Etant donné que les deux ailes sont reliées par le ressort, elles se maintiennent en équilibre et chaque battement d'aile est automatiquement suivi par effet retour résilient.

« Je pensais que les ailes voletantes pouvaient réaliser un angle plus important et pouvaient donc déplacer plus d'air. Etant donné que les deux ailes sont reliées par un ressort, elles se maintiennent en équilibre. Les ailes, qui ressemblent à une membrane, s'ouvrent en battant comme un ressort. L'air qui se prend dedans est ensuite repoussé par le retour résilient de l'aile. C'est une manière très efficace de voler mais bien entendu, c'est aussi beaucoup plus compliqué… ». (Panamarenko)

Afin de prouver la possibilité théorique d'un mécanisme de vol pouvant soulever des masses lourdes avec des ailes très larges, voletantes, Panamarenko s'en réfère à l'existence d'une libellule préhistorique appelée 'Meganeudon'. Ses ailes ont une énorme envergure de 1,5m. Dans les ouvrages de référence scientifiques, cependant, vous ne trouverez le 'Meganeudon' nulle part mais vous trouverez le Meganeuron, situé pendant l'ère fossile du Carbone. Il s'agit d'un prédécesseur de 280 à 230 millions d'années de nos libellules actuelles. Panamarenko : « J'ai transformé ce ‘r’ en ‘d’ car oui, ça sonne un peu plus comme un nom de dinosaure de cette façon ! ». Le fait d'altérer des données objectives pour les intégrer dans une nouvelle relation fait partie des caractéristiques des happenings et du mouvement Fluxus.

(Source :  Morrens, P., Willemse, H., 2005, Copyright Panamarenko, Anvers : Ludion, pp. 105 - 108)

 

Events View all

Ensembles View all

Actors View all