Marthe Wéry

Scan 110509 0001 bew

1930 - 2005

Born in Etterbeek (BE), died in Brussels (BE).

Marthe Wéry (1930-2005) is undoubtedly one of the major Belgian artists of the second half of the 20th century. In 2001, following a retrospective at Bozar, on the occasion of the Belgian Presidency of the European Union, she took part, together with photographer Dirk Braeckman and visual artist Jan Fabre, in a project to integrate several works in the Royal Palace, Brussels. She is also featured, through important collections, in most of the Belgian museum collections (MRBA, SMAK, M HKA, MuZée) and abroad, notably at the Center Pompidou and the Musée d'Art Moderne in Paris. It is however the BPS22 Museum of Art of the Province of Hainaut that features the largest number of her works.

Born in Brussels in 1930, Marthe Wéry studied painting at the Grande Chaumière in Paris and studied engraving at Atelier 17 with Stanley William Hayter, while leaning to draw by herself. After several studies, mainly in the field of drawing (landscapes, nudes, battle scenes), she made a name for herself in the Belgian art world with her geometric engravings inspired by constructivism (first solo exhibition at the Galerie Saint Laurent in Brussels). These works are characterised by the accuracy of their composition and the dynamics of the surface textures from which she exploits all their possibilities. A series of geometric paintings followed, inspired directly by her studies in engraving and which capture the essence of engraving: materiality of the medium, variations in texture and reflection of light, among others through the use of spray paints that produce finely speckled surfaces.

In the early 1970s, she turned to a more minimalist form, marked by her grey compositions made of dense lines traced with a ruler; first on canvas, then on paper of various formats and textures. Their indistinct formats, with their uncertain contours, accentuate the dynamic dialectic between structure and format; their knotty textures capture light. It also ensures that each component stands alone: the medium is visible, the ink is perceptible, and the format of the medium is clearly marked. Marthe Wéry got noticed on the international scene and participated in the Fundamental Painting exhibition at the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam in 1974; then at Documenta 6 in Kassel, Germany.

In 1982, her intervention at the Belgian Pavilion, on the occasion of the Venice Biennale, marked the great return of colour in her work. During this decade, she multiplied the radical experiments that break down the essential components of painting: medium, form, frame, colour. The result of these experiments was the Montreal, Sao Paulo and a/d Drecht series. The canvases of different sizes are like ‘dashes’ of colour, arranged on a white wall. The tension between the shape and the format takes place within the scale of the wall. The architecture of the exhibition site takes an increasingly prominent place in the final installation.

While the beginning of the 80s is marked by the return of colour, the end of this decade and the beginning of the next saw new research leading to radical series: a/d Drecht are series of panels or canvases lined with bevel-cut MDF. The format of the panel is closed by a frame, some sides are left open. The depth of the blue is contradicted by the brutality of the panel. The tension between the blue coloured patch and the raw medium is further amplified a few years later in another series, shown for the first time at the Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville in Paris, during the exhibition L’Art en Belgique. Un point de vue. A panel in a neutral grey resting on one of the seven panels of raw wood. With this historical series, Marthe Wéry reaches a rare point in her questioning on the support of painting and its limits.

At the beginning of the 80s, Marthe Wéry produced a series of minimalist gray paintings, crossed by flat, horizontal or vertical lines, establishing the passage of different planes. These ‘relief’ paintings emerge from flatness to structure space according to a precise rhythm that modifies the perception of surfaces coloured uniformly. A real plastic rhythm seems to modulate the planes of the painting and, by extension, the architecture that hosts it. A piece, made of two painted wooden panels, superimposed one above the other, with a slight shift, and leaning against the wall, shows the new limit that the artist attains in the decomposition of the components of the painting.

In the mid 90s, Marthe Wéry developed ‘new ways’ of painting, in order to use the potentialities of the surface of the painting; a radical period is followed by a more colourful but always rigorous period, in which some older preoccupations (architecture, luminosity, etc.) were expressed differently. This is the case of the open series Calais, begun in 1995 and prematurely ended at the death of the artist, made of a vast installation of MDF panels, covered with a sky blue, ranging from a dark blue grey to a very refreshing blue-white, which can be reconfigured according to the space of exposure. The ensemble is what we call today a ‘variable media’, that is to say a sort of plastic score (in the musical sense of the term) that must be reinterpreted at each presentation. Like any musical interpretation, presentation is the subject of a distinct appreciation of the work.

Marthe Wéry died in 2005, shortly after her last exhibition, Les Couleurs du Monochrome, organised by the BPS22, at the Museum of Fine Arts in Tournai, as part of Lille 2004, European Capital of Culture.

Items View all

Events View all

Ensembles View all

Marthe Wéry

1930 - 2005

Né à Etterbeek (BE), décédé en Brussels (BE).

Marthe Wéry figure assurément parmi les artistes belges les plus importants de la seconde moitié du XXe siècle. En 2001, suite à une rétrospective à Bozar, à l’occasion de la Présidence belge de l’Union Européenne, elle a participé, aux côtés du photographe Dirk Braeckman et du plasticien Jan Fabre, à un projet d’intégration de plusieurs œuvres au Palais Royal, à Bruxelles. Elle est également présente, via des ensembles importants, dans la plupart des collections des musées belges (MRBA, S.M.A.K, M hka, MuZée) et, à l’étranger, notamment dans celles du Centre Pompidou et du Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris. C’est toutefois au BPS22 Musée d’art de la Province de Hainaut qu’est rassemblé le plus grand nombre de ses œuvres.

Née à Bruxelles en 1930, Marthe Wéry a étudié en élève libre la peinture à la Grande Chaumière, à Paris, et a appris la gravure à l’Atelier 17 avec Stanley William Hayter, tout en pratiquant le dessin en autodidacte. Après quelques recherches, notamment dans le domaine du dessin (paysages, nus, scènes de bataille), elle s’impose sur la scène belge avec ses gravures géométriques, inspirées du constructivisme (première exposition personnelle à la galerie Saint Laurent, à Bruxelles). Ces travaux se caractérisent par la justesse de leur composition et la dynamique des textures de surface dont elle exploite toutes les possibilités. S’ensuit une série de tableaux géométriques, directement inspirés de ses recherches en gravure, qui condensent les enjeux de ses gravures : matérialité du support, variations de texture et réflexion de la lumière, notamment par l’utilisation de bombes en spray qui produisent des aplats finement mouchetés.

Au début des années 70, elle se tourne vers une forme de minimalisme, marqué par ses compositions grises faites de lignes denses tracées à la règle ; d’abord sur toile, ensuite sur papier de formats et de textures divers. Leurs formats indistincts, aux contours incertains, accentuent la dialectique dynamique mise en place entre structure et format ; leurs textures noueuses accrochent la lumière. Elle veille en outre à ce que chaque composante apparaisse pour elle-même : le support est visible, l’encre est perceptible, le format du support se marque nettement. Marthe Wéry est alors remarquée sur la scène internationale et participe à l’exposition Fundamental Painting, au Stedelijk Museum, à Amsterdam, en 1974 ; puis à la Documenta 6, à Cassel, en Allemagne.  

En 1982, son intervention dans le pavillon belge, à l’occasion de la Biennale de Venise, marque le grand retour de la couleur dans son œuvre. Elle poursuit la décennie en multipliant les expérimentations radicales qui décomposent les composantes essentielles du tableau : support, forme, cadre, couleur. Ce sont les séries Montréal, Sao Paulo ou a/d Drecht. Les toiles de différents formats sont autant des « touches » de couleur, agencées sur le mur blanc. La tension entre la forme et le format se déplace cette fois à l’échelle du mur. L’architecture du lieu d’exposition prend une place de plus en plus affirmée dans le dispositif final.

Si le début des années 80 est marqué par le retour de la couleur, la fin de cette décennie et le début de la suivante voient de nouvelles recherches qui aboutissent à des séries radicales : a/d Drecht sont des séries de panneaux ou toiles bordées de MDF taillés en biseau. Le format du panneau est fermé par un cadre, dont certains côtés sont laissés ouverts. La profondeur du bleu est contredite par la brutalité du panneau. La tension entre l’aplat coloré bleu et le support brut est encore amplifiée, quelques années plus tard, dans une autre série, montrée pour la première fois au Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, lors de l’exposition L’Art en Belgique. Un point de vue : Un panneau coloré d’un gris neutre repose sur l’un des 7 panneaux de bois brut. Avec cette série historique, Marthe Wéry atteint un point rare dans son questionnement sur le support de la peinture et ses limites.

Au début des années 80, Marthe Wéry produit une série de tableaux d’un gris minimaliste, traversés de lignes méplates, horizontales ou verticales, établissant le passage de différents plans. Ces tableaux « en relief » sortent de la planéité pour structurer l’espace selon un rythme précis qui modifie la perception de surfaces colorées uniformément. Une véritable rythmique plastique semble moduler les plans du tableau et, par extension, l’architecture qui l’accueille. Une pièce, faite de deux panneaux de bois peints et superposés l’un sur l’autre, avec un léger décalage, et appuyés contre le mur, manifeste ce nouveau point limite que l’artiste atteint dans la décomposition des composantes du tableau.

Au milieu des années 90, Marthe Wéry développe de "nouvelles manières" de peindre, afin d’exploiter les potentialités de la surface du tableau ; à une période radicale succède ainsi une période plus colorée, mais toujours rigoureuse, où s’expriment différemment certaines préoccupations plus anciennes (architecture, luminosité, etc.). C’est le cas de la série ouverte Calais, commencée en 1995 et arrêtée au décès de l’artiste, faite d’une vaste installation de panneaux de MDF, couverts d’un bleu ciel, allant d’un bleu-gris sombre à un bleu-blanc d’une grande fraîcheur, qu’il est possible de reconfigurer en fonction de l’espace d’exposition. L’ensemble est ce que l’on appelle aujourd’hui un « media variable », c’est-à-dire une sorte de partition plastique (au sens musical du terme) qui doit être réinterprétée à chaque présentation. Comme toute interprétation musicale, la présentation fait l’objet d’une appréciation distincte de l’œuvre. 

Marthe Wéry décède en 2005, peu après sa dernière exposition, Les Couleurs du Monochrome, organisée par le BPS22, au Musée des Beaux-Arts de Tournai, dans le cadre de Lille 2004, Capitale européenne de la Culture.

Items View all

Events View all

Ensembles View all