Johanna Kandl

Johanna kandl

° 1954

Born in Vienna (AT), lives in Berlin (DE), lives in Vienna (AT).

Johanna Kandl (°1954) studied painting in Vienna and Belgrade. Kandl, who regularly collaborates with her partner Helmut Kandl, often researches the outermost edges of the European Union and the neighbouring 'others'. She was one of the first artists in Austria to react to the transformations that followed the globalisation after 1989 in East and South East Europe.

Kandl works with a wide range of media, but her photographic and cinematic praxis is commonly influenced by her sensitivity as a painter. These links between genres and techniques are visible in her large-scale paintings, resembling monumental enlarged stills from television, portraits that often document the barren conditions of daily life in the rapidly changing political constellations of the former Soviet satellite states and elsewhere.

Kandl academically combines the tradition of historical painting with the bleak reality of the late twentieth and early twenty-first century as reflected by the mass media. By exposing contrasts, such as between the poignant poverty in the former Soviet Bloc and the flashy lifestyle of those who had a good deal thanks to the New Capitalism, she ask who benefits from who, and how, and why? What larger structures are driving this and how can it be deciphered?

 “I like to imagine stories in which events could have – or have taken a different turn …” – Johanna Kandl, 2012

Items View all

Events View all

Ensembles View all

Johanna Kandl

Johanna kandl

° 1954

Né à Vienna (AT), vit à Berlin (DE), vit à Vienna (AT).

Johanna Kandl (°1954, Vienne, Autriche) a étudié la peinture à Vienne et à Belgrade. Kandl, qui collabore régulièrement avec son partenaire Helmut Kandl, se plaît à voyager aux confins de l'Union européenne afin de mieux connaître ces "autres" qui nous entourent. Elle fut l'une des premières artistes en Autriche à exprimer, à travers son œuvre, les mutations survenues après 1989 en Europe de l'Est et du Sud-Est sous l'effet de la globalisation.

Kandl utilise une large palette d'outils, mais sa pratique photographique et filmique résulte essentiellement de sa sensibilité de peintre. Les rapprochements qu'elle opère entre les genres et les techniques se donnent à voir dans ses peintures de  grand format qui ressemblent à un arrêt sur image de taille monumentale, tiré de reportages télévisés qui nous renseignent souvent sur les dures conditions de vie dans les constellations politiques très changeantes des États satellites de l'ancienne Union soviétique et d'ailleurs.

Kandl allie la tradition académique de la peinture historique avec la réalité plus sombre de la fin du XXe siècle et du début du XXIe siècle telle qu'elle se reflète dans les médias de masse. En montrant les contrastes qui opposent l'extrême pauvreté dans les pays de l'ancien bloc soviétique et le style de vie branché de ceux qui se sont plus aisément accommodés du Nouveau Capitalisme, elle demande qui profite de qui, comment et pourquoi? Quelles superstructures sont-elles à l'œuvre et quel sens leur donner?

"Gerne denke ich mir Geschichten aus, in denen Dinge einen anderen Verlauf nehmen könnten – oder auch genommen haben könnten....“– Johanna Kandl, 2012

Items View all

Events View all

Ensembles View all