Untitled

Cox jan zt 1973 photo m hka14

Jan Cox

1973

Drawing, 755 x 565 mm.
Materials: charcoal on paper

Collection: Collection M HKA, Antwerp / Donated by Adriaan Raemdonck, 2014 (Inv. no. S0491_28).

These charcoal sketches of an organic aspect evoke a good many questions and might at first seem a bit strange, for here we essentially are dealing with an abstraction of feelings and sense-experience.  The figure looks like a butterfly, and makes us think of the earlier works Butterfly of Love (Boston, 1960), Escapade de Papillon (Boston, 1961) and Butterfly of Tears (Boston, 1963).  The butterfly motif also returns later in The Fog in Maine (Boston, 1974) and in De droeve vlinder (Antwerp, 1975). 

Applying Freudian dream analysis to contemporary art, we might suggest that first-and-foremost the artist represents him/herself in the work, and that certain feelings continue to emerge as recurring signs or motifs.  This butterfly and other animals - but also shells and flowers - within Jan Cox's oeuvre give shape to particular, acutely felt emotions.

The butterfly is a sort of indefinable thing, of which the 'eyes' are clear and recognizable.  Just as with Untitled (1979) where the motif of the door dominates, here the 'eyes' (like 'two fringed carbuncles') again evoke the feminine and reflect upon the quest for freedom

Events View all

Ensembles View all

Actors View all

Linked Items View all

Untitled

Cox jan zt 1973 photo m hka14

Jan Cox

1973

Dessin, 755 x 565 mm.
Materials: charcoal on paper

Collection: Collection M HKA, Antwerp / Donated by Adriaan Raemdonck, 2014 (Inv. no. S0491_28).

Ce dessin au fusain d’une apparition organique soulève de nombreuses questions et paraît étrange parce qu’il s’agit en essence d’une abstraction de sentiments et d’expériences sensorielles. L’apparition ressemble à un papillon et fait penser aux œuvres précédentes, Butterfly of Love (Boston, 1960), Escapade de Papillon (Boston, 1961) et Butterfly of Tears (Boston, 1963). Le motif du papillon revient aussi par la suite dans The Fog in Maine (Boston, 1974) et dans De droeve vlinder (Anvers, 1975).

Si on applique l’analyse des rêves de Freud à l’art contemporain, on peut avancer l’hypothèse que l’artiste se représente lui-même en premier lieu dans son œuvre et que certains sentiments reviennent comme des signes ou des motifs récurrents. Dans l’œuvre de Cox, ce papillon et d’autres animaux mais aussi des coquillages et des fleurs donnent corps à de telles émotions.

Le papillon est une chose indéfinissable dont les « yeux » sont nets et reconnaissables. Tout comme dans Untitled (1979) où domine le motif de la porte, ici les « yeux », qui ressemblent à « deux escarboucles ourlées », évoquent à nouveau le féminin et reflètent la quête de liberté.

Events View all

Ensembles View all

Actors View all

Linked Items View all