Zes foto's van verschillende performances 1982 - 1988 [Six photographs of various performances 1982 - 1988]

Image%202

Ria Pacquée

1989

Photography, 6 x (40 x 50 cm).
Materials: colour photograph, marouflage on canvas

Collection: Collection M HKA, Antwerp (Inv. no. BK5760_M85).

These photographs are images of performances in which the artist reveals fragments from the life of ‘Madame’. ‘Madame’ is a character brought to life by Ria Pacquée in 1981, and played by herself. Photographs are made of her comings and goings, and then printed on canvas. In her first apparitions, ‘Madame’ cut a rather pathetic figure; a housebound woman addicted to television, sherry and valium. The photograph of ‘Madame’ in a dilapidated interior strewn with empty beer bottles is typical of this period.

As the years go by, however, ‘Madame’ grows into a lonely ‘folk-woman’ with gray hair and thick spectacles. From here on, she becomes active outside the house, and takes part in all sorts of activities. She is in constant search of something, something that may in one way or another complete her – a sweetheart, a husband or just company. She tries to become part of a crowd, but doing so she is only further confronted with her loneliness. So, for example, she sells ‘souvenirs of the man I’ve loved’ at some little market stall, or plays the toilet attendant in a public institution, or has herself photographed in a tasteless interior decorated with canine portraits.

The photographs of ‘Madame’ offer us a glimpse into the world of a woman of few means and bereft of social contacts. Pacquée combines tragedy with a certain sense of humor, but without ever being hurtful. And although humor plays its part, the photographs speak to us of the endless loneliness of individuals who do their best to make it through their daily lives in a somewhat satisfying way.

Media View all

Events View all

Ensembles View all

Actors View all

Linked Items View all

Zes foto's van verschillende performances 1982 - 1988 [Six photographs of various performances 1982 - 1988]

Image%202

Ria Pacquée

1989

Photographie, 6 x (40 x 50 cm).
Materials: colour photograph, marouflage on canvas

Collection: Collection M HKA, Antwerp (Inv. no. BK5760_M85).

Ces photographies sont des images de performances dans lesquelles l’artiste dévoile des passages de la vie de « Madame », un personnage que Ria Pacquée a inventé en 1981 et qu’elle incarnait elle-même. Elle faisait photographier ses faits et gestes et imprimait ensuite les images sur toile. Dans ses premières performances, Madame était une femme pitoyable, accro à la télévision, au sherry et au valium, cloîtrée chez elle. La photographie de Madame dans un intérieur décrépit, jonché de bouteilles de bière vides caractérise cette période.

Au fil des années, Madame a cependant évolué en une femme du peuple, solitaire, aux cheveux gris et aux lunettes à la monture épaisse. Dès lors, elle est devenue active hors de chez elle et a pris part à diverses activités. Elle était constamment en quête de quelque chose – quelque chose qui puisse la compléter de l’une ou l’autre manière : un amoureux, un mari ou simplement de la compagnie. Elle souhaitait se fondre dans la masse, mais ne faisait qu’affronter sa solitude de la sorte. Ainsi, dans une échoppe d’un marché quelconque, elle vendait, par exemple, des « souvenirs de l’homme qu’elle a aimé », jouait la dame pipi d’une institution publique ou se faisait photographier avec son chien dans un intérieur de mauvais goût, décoré avec des portraits de chiens.

Les photographies de Madame illustrent le monde d’une femme qui dispose d’un minimum de moyens et de contacts sociaux. L’artiste combine ce faisant le tragique avec une certaine forme d’humour, toutefois sans jamais être blessante. Bien que légèrement humoristiques, ces photographies parlent d’une solitude infinie d’individus qui se donnent la peine de participer de manière satisfaisante à la vie quotidienne.

Media View all

Events View all

Ensembles View all

Actors View all

Linked Items View all