Mar Rosso - Sedie Love Difference [Red Sea – Love Difference Chairs]

Dsc 5168 2

Michelangelo Pistoletto

2005

Installation, 4 x (78 x 46 cm).
Materials:

Collection: Collection M HKA, Antwerp - Donation Friends of M HKA, 2011 (Inv. no. S0455).

In 1994, Michelangelo Pistoletto writes the manifesto Progetto Arte: he argues for an art that is engaged with the wider world, and urges artists to think about the role they play in society and their responsibilities herein.  With his grand art-project Cittadellarte, Pistoletto has since 1996 been working to concretize these ideas in collaboration with other artists.

Pistoletto believes in art's potential of bringing together ever more disparate cultures, peoples, belief systems and individuals.  He also addresses various human activities and sectors such as the economy, religion, education and politics, aspiring to connect them via the medium of art.  In 2002 he began the project Love Difference – Artistic Movement for an InterMediterranean Politic, his aim being to encourage a closer rapprochement among countries and peoples of the Mediterranean basin.

The work Red Sea – Love Difference Chairs is a component of this project.  On four side-by-side placed chairs, we are presented with the outline of the Red Sea coast.  The sea acts here as metaphor for the bringing together of different cultures, in this way mediating between countries, languages, political ideas and religions.  In collaboration with Colombian artist Juan Sandoval, Pistoletto re-works an existing chair-type into something that balances on the borderline between art and design, between installation and functional object, between land and sea.  Upon these chairs, the border is meant not to divide but to unite. 

Events View all

Ensembles View all

Actors View all

Mar Rosso - Sedie Love Difference [Red Sea – Love Difference Chairs]

Dsc 5168 2

Michelangelo Pistoletto

2005

Installation, 4 x (78 x 46 cm).
Materials:

Collection: Collection M HKA, Antwerp - Donation Friends of M HKA, 2011 (Inv. no. S0455).

En 1994, Michelangelo Pistoletto écrit le manifeste  Progetto Arte : il plaide pour un art engagé où les artistes réfléchissent au rôle qu'ils jouent dans la société et prennent leur responsabilité. Avec son grand projet artistique Cittadellarte, Pistoletto essaie depuis 1996 de concrétiser ces idées en collaboration avec d'autres artistes.

Pistoletto croit aux possibilités de l'art pour faire converger les cultures, les peuples, les convictions et les individus, qui s'éloignent de plus en plus. Il veut aussi réunir à nouveau différentes activités humaines et différents domaines comme l'économie, la religion, l'éducation et la politique, grâce à l'art. En 2002 il lance le projet Love Difference – Artistic Movement for an InterMediterranean Politic, qui tente de rapprocher les pays et les peuples autour de la Mer Méditerranée.

L'oeuvre  Red Sea – Love Difference Chairs fait partie de ce projet. Sur quatre chaises posées les unes à côté des autres se dessine la côte de la Mer Rouge. La mer est ici une métaphore du rassemblement de plusieurs cultures et elle intervient ainsi entre les pays, les langues, les idées politiques et les religions. En collaboration avec l'artiste colombien Juan Sandoval, Pistoletto transforme un type de chaise existant en un objet qui oscille à la frontière entre l'art et le design, entre l'installation et l'objet fonctionnel, entre terre et mer. Sur ces chaises, la frontière ne sert plus à séparer mais à relier. 

Events View all

Ensembles View all

Actors View all