M HKA gaat digitaal

Met M HKA Ensembles zetten we onze eerste échte stappen in het digitale landschap. Ons doel is met behulp van nieuwe media de kunstwerken nog beter te kaderen dan we tot nu toe hebben kunnen doen.

We geven momenteel prioriteit aan smartphones en tablets, m.a.w. de in-museum-ervaring. Maar we zijn evenzeer hard aan het werk aan een veelzijdige desktop-versie. Tot het zover is vind je hier deze tussenversie.

M HKA goes digital

Embracing the possibilities of new media, M HKA is making a particular effort to share its knowledge and give art the framework it deserves.

We are currently focusing on the experience in the museum with this application for smartphones and tablets. In the future this will also lead to a versatile desktop version, which is now still in its construction phase.

Rest Energy, 1981

Photography, 55 x 68 cm.

Abramovic  marina en ulay  rest energy  1981 photo m hka Collection M HKA

Collection: Collection M HKA, Antwerp / Collection Flemish Community (Inv. no. BK5731_M79).

“Standing across from one another in slanted position. Looking each other in the eye. I hold a bow and Ulay holds the string with the arrow pointing directly to my heart. Microphones attached to both hearts recording the increasing number of heart beats.” - Marina Abramović

This polaroid photograph of Marina and Ulay is part of a series of joint performances, Relation Works [1976-1981]. Their relationship, personal and artistic, is the area of investigation here. Physical limits of exhaustion and pain are pushed to the extreme. The public’s presence is an integral component here. In the photograph we see how the artist-pair stood close, facing each other in the performance, slightly back on their heels. They look straight into one-another’s eyes. Marina holds the bow firmly in her grasp, Ulay the arrow and bowstring. The arrow is aimed right at Marina’s heart. Their respective weights tense the bow. Just one false move by Marina or Ulay could prove fatal. Marina surrenders herself – if Ulay lets the arrow loose, it’s over. The position of the woman seems subordinate to the man, while it’s the woman who is in the spotlight. The other striking feature is the fire-red arrow, in a photograph where use of colour is limited. Both artists were born on November 30th, and thus share the zodiac sign of Sagittarius, the Archer. Astrologically this means that they approach each other with the same weapons. Here, however, they forge into a single weapon, the bow and arrow. They confront each other’s energies and try to link with each other. Each needs the other to measure their strength against, but they will never be ‘one’. This performance was the shortest they ever gave [4 minutes and 12 seconds]. Microphones, placed over the heart, registered the acceleration of the beat. In addition to the polaroid photo from the performance, there is also a video, and the sound of their heartbeats is audible there.

Add to your list

Media

Abramovic  marina en ulay  rest energy  1981 photo m hka

>Marina Abramovic & Ulay, Rest Energy, 1981

Artist

Abramovic  0001 marina  ulay  anima mundi %28bankok%29  1993

> Marina Abramović & Ulay.

Exhibitions & Ensembles

Jurgen addiers m hka 66

> Exhibition: Visite Herentals - Reflections. Kasteel Le Paige, Herentals, 13 October 2012 - 04 November 2012.

Pha603 08

> Exhibition: Urgent Conversations Athens - Antwerp. National Museum of Contemporary Art, Athens (EMST), Athens, 31 October 2016 - 05 February 2017.

Menlibayeva  almagul  steppen police  2010  photo the artist

> Exhibition: The Collection. M HKA, Antwerpen, 28 April 2017 - 31 December 2021.

Collection photo  m hkacc 1

> Ensemble: Audiodescriptie - De Collectie.

Gb  tv quiz dekor  1993

> Ensemble: Collectie Vlaamse Gemeenschap.

P1070558

> Ensemble: NUCLEUS.

No image

> Ensemble: Interpersonal Space.

Filliou  robert  breakfasting together if you wish still1

> Ensemble: actie.

No image

> Ensemble: Tension and Tone.

 collection m hka  photo  m hkacc 5

> Ensemble: NU TE ZIEN.

M HKA gaat digitaal

Met M HKA Ensembles zetten we onze eerste échte stappen in het digitale landschap. Ons doel is met behulp van nieuwe media de kunstwerken nog beter te kaderen dan we tot nu toe hebben kunnen doen.

We geven momenteel prioriteit aan smartphones en tablets, m.a.w. de in-museum-ervaring. Maar we zijn evenzeer hard aan het werk aan een veelzijdige desktop-versie. Tot het zover is vind je hier deze tussenversie.

M HKA goes digital

Embracing the possibilities of new media, M HKA is making a particular effort to share its knowledge and give art the framework it deserves.

We are currently focusing on the experience in the museum with this application for smartphones and tablets. In the future this will also lead to a versatile desktop version, which is now still in its construction phase.

Rest Energy, 1981

Photographie, 55 x 68 cm.

Abramovic  marina en ulay  rest energy  1981 photo m hka Collection M HKA

Collection: Collection M HKA, Antwerp / Collection Flemish Community (Inv. no. BK5731_M79).

« Être debout l’un en face de l’autre dans une position inclinée. Se regarder dans les yeux. Je tiens un arc et Ulay tient la corde avec la flèche pointée directement vers mon cœur. Des micros raccordés à nos deux cœurs enregistrent le nombre croissant de pulsations. » – Marina Abramović.

Cette photographie Polaroid de Marina Abramović et Ulay fait partie d’une série de performances communes, Relation Works [1976-1981], dans laquelle leur relation intime et artistique constitue le champ d’investigation. Les limites physiques de l’épuisement et de la douleur sont poussées à l’extrême. La présence du public fait partie intégrante de l’œuvre. Sur la photographie, on aperçoit la façon dont ce couple d’artistes se fait face lors de la performance, penchant légèrement en arrière en s’appuyant sur les talons. Ils se regardent droit dans les yeux. Marina serre l’arc d’une prise ferme, Ulay tient la flèche et la corde. La flèche pointe droit vers le cœur de Marina. Leurs poids respectifs tendent l’arc. Le moindre faux mouvement de Marina ou d’Ulay pourrait s’avérer fatal. Marina s’abandonne – si Ulay lâche la flèche, elle lui transperce le cœur. La position de la femme semble subordonnée à celle de l’homme même si c’est la femme qui est sous le feu des projecteurs. L’autre caractéristique frappante de cette photographie est la flèche rouge feu, alors que tout autour l’utilisation de la couleur est plutôt limitée. Les deux artistes sont nés un 30 novembre et sont donc du même signe astrologique, celui du Sagittaire (l’Archer). Du point de vue astrologique, cela signifie qu’ils s’approchent avec les mêmes armes. Ici, ils ne forgent cependant qu’une seule arme, l’arc et la flèche. Ils affrontent leurs énergies respectives et tentent d’entrer en lien l’un avec l’autre. Chacun a besoin de l’autre pour mesurer sa force, mais ils ne deviennent jamais « un ». Cette performance était la plus courte qu’ils aient jamais réalisée (4 minutes et 12 secondes). De petits micros placés sur le cœur enregistraient l’accélération de leur battement cardiaque. Outre la photographie Polaroid de la performance, il existe également une vidéo sur laquelle le son des battements de leurs cœurs est audible.

Ajouter à votre liste

Media

Abramovic  marina en ulay  rest energy  1981 photo m hka

>Marina Abramovic & Ulay, Rest Energy, 1981

Artiste

Abramovic  0001 marina  ulay  anima mundi %28bankok%29  1993

> Marina Abramović & Ulay.

Expositions & Ensembles

Jurgen addiers m hka 66

> Exposition: Visite Herentals - Reflections. Kasteel Le Paige, Herentals, 13 October 2012 - 04 November 2012.

Pha603 08

> Exposition: Urgent Conversations Athens - Antwerp. National Museum of Contemporary Art, Athens (EMST), Athens, 31 October 2016 - 05 February 2017.

Menlibayeva  almagul  steppen police  2010  photo the artist

> Exposition: The Collection. M HKA, Antwerpen, 28 April 2017 - 31 December 2021.

Collection photo  m hkacc 1

> Ensemble: Audiodescriptie - De Collectie.

Gb  tv quiz dekor  1993

> Ensemble: Collectie Vlaamse Gemeenschap.

P1070558

> Ensemble: NUCLEUS.

Sans photo

> Ensemble: Interpersonal Space.

Filliou  robert  breakfasting together if you wish still1

> Ensemble: actie.

Sans photo

> Ensemble: Tension and Tone.

 collection m hka  photo  m hkacc 5

> Ensemble: NU TE ZIEN.