2 spiegels Skipper

Amberes photo m hka cc 2019 cc  16

George SmitsLuc Deleu

1973

Installation, 60 x 50 cm.
Materials: 2 mirrors

Collection: Courtesy Luc Deleu.

For George Smits, the creation of prosaic artforms for a broader public, served ‘a greater purpose’ than the bourgeois artworld. The extreme integrity with which he pursued this goal is the connecting thread that runs through his diverse body of work. He was a fixture of Antwerp’s underground art scene, affiliated with the Ercola group, and preferred to describe himself as a beatnik.

In 1973, Smits created several graphic wallpaper and mirror designs intended for the nautical themed cafe De Schipper in the centre of Antwerp, whose interior architecture was created by Luc Deleu. Smits designs are vivid and hallucinogenic, reflecting his alternative approach to life and work.

In 1970, Smits designed posters and created a permanent light show with light installations and liquid projections for Thalamus, a café famed for its nightlife in Brussels that he frequented and occasionally worked in. Thalamus was also a favourite haunt of artist-poet Sophie Podolski, whose work Roberto Bolaño greatly admired.

Events View all

Actors View all

Linked Items View all

2 spiegels Skipper

Amberes photo m hka cc 2019 cc  16

George SmitsLuc Deleu

1973

Installation, 60 x 50 cm.
Materials: 2 mirrors

Collection: Courtesy Luc Deleu.

Pour George Smits, la création de formes d’art prosaïques pour un large public sert un objectif plus vaste que celui du seul monde de l’art bourgeois. L’intégrité extrême avec laquelle il a poursuivi ce but est le fil conducteur qui parcourt l’ensemble du corpus diversifié de son œuvre. Pilier de la scène underground anversoise, affilié au groupe Ercola, il préférait se décrire comme un beatnik.

En 1973, Smits crée plusieurs motifs graphiques de papier peint et de miroir pour le thème nautique du café De Schipper (le marin) au centre-ville d’Anvers, dont l’intérieur était signé de Luc Deleu. Les projets colorés et hallucinatoires de Smits reflètent son approche alternative de la vie et du travail.

En 1970, Smits a conçu des affiches, créé une installation lumineuse permanente et des projections liquides pour le Thalamus, un café bruxellois célèbre auprès des noctambules qu’il fréquentait et où il travaillait de temps à autre. Le Thalamus était aussi le lieu de prédilection de l’artiste et poétesse Sophie Podolski, dont Roberto Bolaño admirait profondément l’œuvre.

Events View all

Actors View all

Linked Items View all