Biblimlen

Biblimlen35

Sasha Pirogova

2013

Video, 00:10:00.
Materials: HD video, sound

Collection: Collection M HKA, Antwerp.

Biblimlen explores a series of performances – which are strung together cinematographically – the ways in which people interact with their everyday environment, which is both unique and passing. Often with little or no attention to detail, any possibility for something new or different is completely overlooked.

The performances take place in the Russian State Library, which becomes a co-author of the work. The unique atmosphere and shape of the building is closely linked to the strict rules of conduct that apply there. The work departs from common scenarios that contradict the restrictions of this strictly regulated environment.

Pirogova lets human bodies perform a surprising dance with the library's knowledge system. She shows unsuspected qualities and possible experiences in a system striving for uniformity. It's our movements that bring livability, enjoyment and depth. The real and the surreal come together; the characters are enchanted by the building and remain in an endless conversation with space.

Events View all

Ensembles View all

Actors View all

Biblimlen

Biblimlen35

Sasha Pirogova

2013

Video, 00:10:00.
Materials: HD video, sound

Collection: Collection M HKA, Antwerp.

Biblimlen explore dans une série de performances rassemblées cinématographiquement, les manières dont les individus interagissent avec leur environnement familier, aussi unique qu’éphémère. Cette interaction n’accorde souvent que peu ou pas d’attention aux détails, et exclut complètement toute possibilité de nouveauté ou de différence.

Les performances se déroulent dans la bibliothèque d’État russe, qui devient elle-même co-auteur de l’œuvre. L’ambiance qui y règne et la forme de l’édifice sont intimement liées aux règles de bonne conduite sévères qui y prévalent. L’œuvre trouve son origine dans des scénarios partagés qui s’attaquent aux limites de cet environnement strictement réglementé.

Pirogova fait exécuter à des corps humains des mouvements surprenants sur fond du fichier de la bibliothèque. Elle fait émerger ainsi des qualités et des possibilités d’expériences inattendues dans un système qui tend vers l’uniformisation totale. Nos mouvements apportent qualité de vie, plaisir et profondeur. Le vrai et le surréel se rejoignent ; le bâtiment envoûte les personnages et leur conversation avec l’espace s’éternise.

Events View all

Ensembles View all

Actors View all