Urgent Conversations: Antwerp – Athens, Part IV: Dealing with Catastrophe, The Flow of the World

Pha603 08

Event

M HKA, Antwerp

18 November 2017 - 07 January 2018

Last year, M HKA was invited by EMST in Athens for the opening exhibition in the new museum building. Today, Urgent Conversations: Antwerp – Athens forms the second part of this collaboration in which a number of dialogues between works from the two collections will be resumed. The urgency is to be found, not only at the level of the content, but also in a practice – the dialogic – which is symmetrical in its nature.

At first sight, Athens and Antwerp are extremes in today’s Europe. In any case, both cities have each in their own way contributed to Europe’s cultural fabric. The major lines of our social organisation stem from Athens, as well our idea of art. As for Antwerp, it is one of the key cities of the early modern era, a centre of research and thought, the city where Utopia was written and the first art market was created.

Urgent Conversations: Antwerp – Athens is built from the bottom up. A work of an artist from Belgium and a Greek artist's work are linked. Starting from here, a subject arises. This theme will be further tested and enriched by adding a third work, creating thematic clusters – each time featuring three artists. The concept embodies the belief that art works can constantly raise new insights and thus encourage the dialogue that forms the social basis for our societal thinking.

MORE

Part 4

18.11.2017 – 07.01.2017

‘Coping with Catastrophe’, with François Curlet, N. S. Harsha and Costas Varotsos

‘The Flow of the World’, with Kimsooja, Ria Pacquée and Danae Stratou

Items View all

Media View all

Actors View all

Conversations urgentes : Anvers – Athènes, Partie IV: Gérer la catastrophe, Le flux du monde

Pha603 08

Event

M HKA, Antwerp

18 November 2017 - 07 January 2018

L’année passée, l’EMST à Athènes a invité le M HKA à l’exposition inaugurale du nouvel édifice qui abrite le musée. Conversations urgentes : Anvers – Athènes est le deuxième volet de cette collaboration qui reprend certains dialogues entre des œuvres des deux collections. L’urgence ne réside pas seulement dans le contenu, mais aussi dans une pratique – dialogique – de nature symétrique.

Si, à première vue, Athènes et Anvers semblent des pôles opposés au sein de l’Europe actuelle, les deux villes ont en tout cas contribué, chacune à sa façon, à poser les fondements essentiels du tissu culturel européen. Athènes a vu naître les grandes lignes de notre organisation sociale actuelle ainsi que notre idée de l’art. Anvers est, quant à elle, une des villes cruciales du début de l’époque moderne, une ville de pensée et de recherche, la ville où Utopia a été écrit et où le premier marché de l’art a émergé.

Conversations urgentes Anvers – Athènes est construite de manière ascendante : une œuvre d’un(e) artiste belge et une œuvre d’un(e) artiste grec(que) sont mises en lien et il en découle un thème, qui est mis à l’épreuve et enrichi en y ajoutant une troisième œuvre. Ainsi des assemblages thématiques se constituent autour de trois artistes. L’objectif incarne la conviction qu’à tout moment, des œuvres d’art peuvent évoquer de nouvelles idées et éveiller de la sorte le dialogue qui est à la base de notre pensée sociétale.

PLUS

Partie 4

18.11.2017 – 07.01.2017

« Gérer la catastrophe » avec François Curlet, N.S. Harsha et Costas Varotsos

« Le flux du monde » avec Kimsooja, Ria Pacquée et Danae Stratou

Items View all

Media View all

Actors View all