The collection XXX – The Museum of Forgotten History, with intervention by Maarten Vanden Eynde

Img 2369 edit

Event

M HKA, Antwerpen

29 June 2012 - 16 September 2012

Maarten Vanden Eynde’s project Museum of Forgotten History housed the remains of a possible future past. The exhibition took the form of fiction, a kind of science fiction, where a selection of works by Vanden Eynde and numerous works from the M HKA collection acted as props.

The exhibits touched numerous socially and politically relevant issues, such as post-industrialization, capitalism and ecology, and thus offered a perspective on the state of our society at the start of the 21st century. Through the presentation of these unusual items, all made with a variety of natural and artificial materials, Vanden Eynde continued his materials study, exploring the modern roots of ‘progress’.

The exhibition at the M HKA reflected the conventional order of the 'modern' museum. The Museum of Forgotten History, however, left room for the use of fiction as a means of interpretation, through the very playful logic of watching these unusual objects as if they were the 'discoveries' of the future. Beyond the physical objects of the exhibited artefacts, the role of the narrative took centre stage. Besides ‘the normal course of events’ and its layers of meaning, memory and projection, new facts were formed.

Items View all

Media View all

Actors View all

La collection XXX – The Museum of Forgotten History, intervention de Maarten Vanden Eynde

Img 2369 edit

Event

M HKA, Antwerpen

29 June 2012 - 16 September 2012

Commissaire de l’exposition: Nav Haq

Le projet de Maarten Vanden Eynde Museum of Forgotten History hébergeait les restants d’un potentiel passé futur. L’exposition était une histoire de fiction, une sorte de science-fiction, où une sélection d’œuvres de Vanden Eynde et bon nombre d’œuvres de la collection du M HKA jouaient ensemble le rôle d’accessoires.

Les objets exposés abordaient bon nombre de sujets sociaux et politiques pertinents, comme la post-industrialisation, le capitalisme et l’écologie, et offraient ainsi une perspective sur l’état de notre société au début du 21ème siècle. A travers la présentation de ces objets hors du commun, tous faits de différents matériaux naturels et artificiels, Vanden Eynde a poursuivi le développement de l’essai de matériaux. Il a revu les racines modernes de la ‘progression’.

L’exposition au M HKA reflétait l’ordre conventionnel du musée ‘moderne’. The Museum of Forgotten History a pourtant également laissé de l’espace pour l’utilisation de la fiction comme moyen d’interprétation, à travers la logique très ludique de contempler ces objets hors du commun comme s’il s’agissait de ‘découvertes’ de l’avenir. Les artefacts ne sont pas uniquement des objets physiques, mais ils racontent également une histoire. En plus du ‘cours des choses’ et ses couches de signification, de souvenir et de projection, de nouveaux faits ont été créés de cette manière.

Items View all

Media View all

Actors View all