IN SITU: Peter Wächtler – Romulus

Peter w%c3%a4chtler romulus

Event

M HKA, Antwerp

28 April 2017 - 03 September 2017

The IN SITU programme offers medium-scale monographic exhibitions by significant early- and mid-career artists from around the world. It focuses on the commissioning of new works and foregrounding experimental practices in what is M HKA’s largest and most atypical exhibition space.

Peter Wächtler creates artworks that use elements of fiction and folklore, re-using and adapting common narrations and tale-like structures. Making his art from a variety of handcrafted media, whether sculpture, painting or animation, as well as writing, his work is concerned with introspection, its liability and social consequences. Often containing pathos and irony, but also humour and melancholy, we are unclear if his art might be in part autobiographical, but we could otherwise see that it offers reflections on human subjectivity in all its complication, on the fine line between powerfulness and uselessness.

For his exhibition at M HKA titled Romulus, Wächtler has produced a new set of sculptures of terracotta castles. These homespun buildings sit in the gallery space as indicators of scale, in-between model and sculpture. They also use the perspectives possible in the vast exhibition space with a long-distance recognisability like that seen in a romantic painting or as viewed in the distance from a car traveling alongside the highway. Their character of fortification bears a sense of defensiveness, yet glancing into the emptiness of their courtyards leaves open what exactly is protected by these walls.

Peter Wächtler lives and works in Brussels and Berlin. His recent solo exhibitions include: Peter Wächtler, Schinkel Pavilion (2017); Secrets of a Trumpet, The Renaissance Society, Chicago (2016); Far Out, Chisenhale, London (2016); Peter Wächtler, KIOSK, Ghent (2016); and Peter Wächtler, Westfälischer Kunstverein, Münster (2014). Selected group exhibitions include 6th Moscow Biennial, Moscow (2015); Surround Audience, New Museum Triennial, New York (2015); A Needle Walks into a Haystack, Liverpool Biennial (2014); and Meanwhile... Suddenly and Then, Lyon Biennale (2013). A collection of Wächtler’s texts titled Come On was published by Sternberg Press in 2013.

The animation video Untitled (Rat) by Peter Wächtler is on dislpay on the fifth floor @INBOX.

Items View all

Media View all

Actors View all

IN SITU: Peter Wächtler – Romulus

Peter w%c3%a4chtler romulus

Event

M HKA, Antwerp

28 April 2017 - 03 September 2017

Le programme IN SITU propose des expositions monographiques à échelle moyenne d’artistes du monde entier, en début ou en milieu de carrière. Le programme se concentre sur la commande de nouvelles œuvres et la mise en exergue de pratiques expérimentales dans l’espace d’exposition le plus vaste et le plus atypique du M HKA.

Peter Wächtler crée des œuvres d’art empreintes d’éléments tirés de la fiction et du folklore, en réutilisant et en adaptant des narrations communes et des structures propres aux contes. Exprimant son art à travers divers moyens d’expression manuels, qu’il s’agisse de sculpture, de peinture, d’animation ou encore d’écriture, ses œuvres portent sur l’introspection, ses responsabilités et ses conséquences sociales. Souvent marqué de pathétisme et d’ironie, mais également teinté d’humour et de mélancolie, nous ne pouvons déterminer dans quelle mesure son art est en partie autobiographique, mais nous pourrions à tout le moins observer que celui-ci suscite une série de réflexions quant à la subjectivité de l’être humain avec toutes ses complications, en équilibre subtil entre puissance et futilité.

Dans le cadre de son exposition intitulée Romulus au M HKA, Peter Wächtler a produit une nouvelle série de sculptures en argile représentant des châteaux en terre cuite. Ces édifices sommaires font office d’indicateurs de mesure au sein de la galerie, à mi-chemin entre modèle et sculpture. Ils tirent également parti des possibilités de perspective qu’offre le vaste espace de l’exposition par leurs contours reconnaissables de loin, caractéristique que l’on peut retrouver dans une peinture romantique ou à la vue d’un paysage assis dans l’habitacle d’une voiture qui se déplace le long de l’autoroute. Leur fonction de fortification suscite un sentiment de défense, bien que l’observation de la vacuité de leurs cours intérieures laisse place à l’interrogation quant à ce qui est effectivement protégé par ces murs.

Peter Wächtler vit et travaille à Bruxelles et à Berlin. Ses récentes expositions en solo incluent : Peter Wächtler, Schinkel Pavillon (2017) ; Secrets of a Trumpet [Secrets d’une Trompette], The Renaissance Society, Chicago (2016) ; Far Out [Au loin], Chisenhale, Londres (2016) ; Peter Wächtler, KIOSK, Gand (2016) ; et Peter Wächtler, Westfälischer Kunstverein, Munster (2014). Certaines de ses expositions de groupe incluent 6th Moscow Biennial [6e Biennale de Moscou], Moscou (2015) ; Surround Audience [Public en surround], New Museum Triennial, New York (2015) ; A Needle Walks into a Haystack [Une aiguille entre dans une botte de foin], Liverpool Biennial (2014) ; et Meanwhile... Suddenly and Then [Pendant ce temps... Soudainement et ensuite], Lyon Biennale (2013). Un recueil de textes de Peter Wächtler intitulé Come on a été publié par Sternberg Press en 2013.

La vidéo Untitled (Rat) de Peter Wächtler peut être vu au cinquième étage @INBOX

Items View all

Media View all

Actors View all