Olga Chernysheva – Keeping Sight

5517

Event

M HKA, Antwerpen

24 October 2014 - 18 January 2015

For the 2014 collection intervention, the M HKA invited the internationally renowned Russian artist Olga Chernysheva (born in 1962, Moscow) to investigate the collection and develop a response to it. The M HKA acquired a major new work by her, the video installation Screens (2013), which, together with her audiovisual work, photos and drawings, was on display at the exhibition.

Chernysheva is a leading name from the Moscow generation emerging in the 90s who made a name for herself during a period of great political and cultural changes, which were, however, partly determined by the difficult reforms of the Soviet system and the economic problems that affected a large part of the population. Her work in different media - including very short essays which she combines with still or moving images - is based on a close observation of the reality around her.

Olga Chernysheva continues the long Russian tradition of social realism (very different form Socialist Realism, the official artistic doctrine of the former Soviet Union) and of art as a kind of critical and compassionate narrative. Her work is formally sophisticated, subtle and humorous.

 

 

Items View all

Media View all

Actors View all

Olga Chernysheva – Fouiller du regard

5517

Event

M HKA, Antwerpen

24 October 2014 - 18 January 2015

Commissaires de l’exposition: Olga Chernysheva & Anders Kreuger

Pour l’intervention au niveau de la collection en 2014, le M HKA a invité l’artiste russe de renommée internationale Olga Chernysheva (°1962, Moscou) à examiner la collection et à lui répondre. Le M HKA a acquis une grande nouvelle œuvre d’elle, l’installation vidéo Screens (2013), montrée, avec ses œuvres audiovisuelles, ses photos et ses dessins, dans l’exposition.

Chernysheva est un nom de référence faisant partie de la génération émergeante dans les années ’90 issue de Moscou, qui a fait fureur pendant une période de grands changements politiques et culturels, qui ont cependant également été déterminés par les réformes difficiles du système soviétique et les problèmes économiques qui ont touché une grande partie de la population. Son œuvre fait en différents média – dont également des essais très courts qu’elle combine avec des images immobiles ou mobiles – se base sur une observation précise de la réalité qui l’entoure.

Olga Chernysheva poursuit la longue tradition russe de réalisme social (tres différent du Réalisme Socialiste, la doctrine artistique officielle de l’ancienne Union soviétique) et d’art comme une narration critique et compréhensive. Son œuvre est tant formellement raffiné que subtilement humoristique.

Items View all

Media View all

Actors View all