LATT: MUHKADEMIE 2013

Iconostase1

Event

M HKA, Antwerpen

27 September 2013 - 05 January 2014

In 2013, the Royal Academy of Fine Arts Antwerp marked its 350th anniversary. This makes it the fourth oldest art school in the world and the oldest in the Low Countries. The M HKA joined in the celebrations: in the context of Happy Birthday Dear Academy – which included two major exhibitions at MAS and the MoMu Fashion Museum - the museum welcomed the Academy to its top floors.

Within the context of MUHKADEMIE, artist Nico Dockx (°1974, Ekeren) and art historian Johan Pas (°1963, Schoten) invited artists and art lovers, lecturers and students, and thinkers and doers to consider the role of the academy and of the museum in a changing, ‘post-institutional’ art world.

Part of the MUHKADEMIE project was MUHKALUMNI in the context of the 350th anniversary of the Royal Academy of Fine Arts Antwerp. MUHKALUMNI was a weekly alternating exhibition where Ina Leys invited 15 artists from different disciplines, graduated from the Royal Academy of Fine Arts, to carry out an intervention in the Lonely at the Top rooms of the M HKA. They had been instructed to enter into dialogue with the collection works from the M HKA and the Iconostase en gribouilli structure of Yona Friedman.

At MUHKALUMNI, the 'white cube' concept was done away with and Yona Friedman's work served as the backbone around which work by the alumni artists and benchmarks from the museum collection were integrated, shown, and/or placed in dialogue.


Artists: Valérie De GhellinckIsa TezWillem SarahSaori KunoMathias Goyvaerts, SterkneusThomas GrødalVeroniek van SamangTine ColenNele OomsSarah De WildeKasper BosmansMima SchwahnNel Bonte and Ina Leys

Items View all

Media View all

Actors View all

LATT: MUHKADEMIE 2013

Iconostase1

Event

M HKA, Antwerpen

27 September 2013 - 05 January 2014

En 2013, l’Académie royale des Beaux-Arts Anvers a fêté son 350ème anniversaire. De ce fait, elle est la quatrième école artistique la plus vieille du monde et la plus vieille des pays bas. Le M HKA l’a également fêté : dans le cadre de Happy Birthday Dear Academie – avec entre autres deux grandes expositions au MAS et au MoMu – le musée a accueilli l’Académie à ses étages supérieurs.

Dans le cadre de MUHKADEMIE, l’artiste Nico Dockx (°1974, Ekeren) et l’historien de l’art Johan Pas (°1963, Schoten) ont invité des artistes et des amateurs d’art, des professeurs et des étudiants, et des penseurs et des acteurs à réfléchir au rôle de l’académie et du musée dans un monde artistique ‘post-institutionnel’ évolutif.

Une partie du projet MUHKADEMIE était MUHKALUMNI, à l’occasion du 350ème anniversaire de l’Académie royale des Beaux-Arts Anvers. MUHKALUMNI était une exposition qui changeait chaque semaine, dans laquelle Ina Leys a invité quinze artistes issus de différentes disciplines, ayant terminé leurs études à l’Académie royale des Beaux-Arts, à réaliser une intervention dans les espaces Lonely At The Top du M HKA. Ils devaient ouvrir le dialogue avec les œuvres de la collection du M HKA et la structure Iconostase et gribouilli de Yona Friedman.

Dans le cadre de MUHKALUMNI, la caractéristique de ‘white cube’ a été enlevée et l’œuvre de Yona Friedman a fait fonction de structure d’exposition dans et autour de laquelle des œuvres d’artistes alumni et des ‘œuvres de référence’ de la collection du musée ont été intégrées, exposées et/ou mises en dialogue.

Artistes: Valérie De GhellinckIsa TezWillem SarahSaori KunoMathias Goyvaerts, SterkneusThomas GrødalVeroniek van SamangTine ColenNele OomsSarah De WildeKasper BosmansMima SchwahnNel Bonte et Ina Leys

Items View all

Media View all

Actors View all