LODGERS #9 Hotel Charleroi

Muhkarleroi2

Event

M HKA, Antwerp

04 February 2017 - 30 April 2017

The LODGERS programme is a collaboration between AIR Antwerpen and M HKA. We welcome imaginative artistic initiatives to come and occupy the 6th floor at M HKA. The programme offers a unique opportunity for public interface, to organisations and initiatives who focus specifically on producing and commissioning, and who do not have their own public space. These LODGERS might be publishers, commissioning agencies, research initiatives, labels, collectives, discussion platforms or other initiatives experimenting with artistic practice who would be interested to live, work and experiment in Antwerp.

LODGERS are welcomed from "Eurocore" – the combined region of Benelux and the Rheinland. 

Free entrance to visit our LODGERS. Come and say hello!

The LODGERS programme is co-curated by Nav Haq, Senior Curator at M HKA, and Alan Quireyns, Artistic Director at AIR Antwerpen.

HOTEL CHARLEROI is an applied research project initiated by visual artists Adrien Tirtiaux , Antoine Turillon and Hannes Zebedin in Charleroi, the largest city in Wallonia, Belgium’s French-speaking region. From 2010 to 2014, HOTEL CHARLEROI has invited more than 100 artists for informal residencies in Charleroi and organised annual exhibitions in public or semi-public space that managed to bring together local and international audiences.

HOTEL CHARLEROI has reinvented its field of research each year, while finding new emblematic locations within the city and using them as artistic labs to address critical statements on the city’s post-industrial development strategies. Among other projects, LE CHANT DES POSSIBLES parasitized numerous non-places around the city’s ring road (2011), VILLE EN ABÎME occupied the 60.000m2 of the derelict Congress Hall “Palais des Expositions” (2012) and LA FORCE DU CHANGEMENT proposed a Winter School for a weekend on the construction site of a huge shopping mall in the old city centre (2014).

M HKA’s invitation to take part in the LODGERS programme allows HOTEL CHARLEROI to reflect on its legacy, including five years of intense activity followed by a two-year break. The residency brings up questions, such as: what remains? Can the site-specific, often performative approach of artistic actions that took place in Charleroi be transferred to a museum? Does an institutional context offer the right conditions to reflect on a project that was embedded within the raw circumstances of the public space? Which parts of the artistic analysis of Charleroi’s societal context remain relevant when you remove Charleroi?

The continuous exposure to these questions made the HOTEL CHARLEROI artists propose the re-enactment of a selection of works that occurred in Charleroi from 2010 to 2014. The original actions will not only be presented in a more classical display in the LODGERS space, they will also be performed again and reinterpreted on two occasions: on Sunday 02.04.2017 and during the re-opening weekend of the M HKA, which takes place from 27.04 to 30.04.2017.

Come and meet our LODGERS and contribute to their activities.

A detailed programme of the performances will follow soon at www.hotelcharleroi.com

Media View all

LODGERS #9 Hotel Charleroi

Muhkarleroi2

Event

M HKA, Antwerp

04 February 2017 - 30 April 2017

Le programme LODGERS est une collaboration entre AIR Antwerpen et le M HKA. Nous accueillons des initiatives artistiques imaginatives à venir occuper les espaces d’exposition du 6e étage du M HKA. Le programme offre une occasion unique de faire office d’interface publique aux organisations et aux initiatives qui se focalisent en particulier sur la production et la commande d’œuvres d’art, mais ne disposent pas de leur propre espace d’exposition. Ces LODGERS peuvent être des éditeurs, des commanditaires, des projets de recherche, des collectifs, des labels, des plateformes de discussion ou d’autres initiatives qui expérimentent la pratique artistique et souhaiteraient s’installer, travailler et procéder à leurs expérimentations à Anvers.

Nous accueillons des LODGERS de l’« Eurocore » – une région qui englobe le Benelux et la Rhénanie. Venez rendre visite à nos LODGERS ! L’entrée est gratuite.

Le programme LODGERS est co-organisée par Nav Haq, conservateur principal au M HKA, et Alan Quireyns, directeur artistique d’AIR Antwerpen.

 

HOTEL CHARLEROI est un projet de recherche appliquée mis en place par les plasticiens Adrien Tirtiaux, Antoine Turillon et Hannes Zebedin à Charleroi, la plus grande ville wallonne de Belgique. Entre 2010 et 2014, HOTEL CHARLEROI a invité plus de 100 artistes pour des résidences informelles à Charleroi, et a organisé une série d’expositions dans l’espace public ou semi-public de la ville, parvenant à réunir un public aussi bien local qu’international.

Chaque année, HOTEL CHARLEROI a redéfini son domaine de recherche, investissant avec de l’art des lieux emblématiques de la ville pour questionner ses stratégies de développement depuis le déclin de l’industrie. Entre autres projets, LE CHANT DES POSSIBLES a parasité une série de non-lieux le long du périphérique de la ville (2011); VILLE EN ABÎME a investi les 60.000 m2 du Palais des Expositions, un centre de congrès en perte de vitesse (2012); et LA FORCE DU CHANGEMENT a proposé une « université d’hiver » le temps d’un week-end sur l’énorme chantier du centre commercial Rive Gauche, au cœur de la Ville Basse (2014).

Invité par le M HKA à prendre part au programme LODGERS, HOTEL CHARLEROI y voit l’occasion de réfléchir à son héritage, après cinq années d’activité intense et une pause de deux ans. Que reste-t-il? La résidence amène toute une série de questions. L’approche artistique contextuelle développée à Charleroi, souvent à travers des projets performatifs, peut-elle être simplement transférée dans un musée? Le cadre institutionnel offre-t-il les bonnes conditions pour rendre compte d’un projet ancré avant tout dans l’espace public? Que reste-t-il de pertinent dans l’analyse du contexte sociétal de Charleroi si l’on retire Charleroi ?

Confronté constamment à ces questions, les artistes d’HOTEL CHARLEROI proposent le « re-enactment » d’une sélection d’œuvres performatives réalisées à Charleroi entre 2010 et 2014. Ces actions, documentées par ailleurs de manière assez classique dans l’espace des LODGERS au dernier étage du M HKA, seront performées à nouveau et réinterprétées pour le contexte de l’institution à deux occasions: le dimanche 02.04.2017, et pendant le weekend de réouverture du M HKA, qui aura lieu du 27.04 au 30.04.2017.

Pour le programme détaillé des performances, veuillez consulter www.hotelcharleroi.com

Media View all