Sveta Shuvaeva – Lake View Limited Offer

Photo by  sveta shuvaeva

Event

M HKA, Antwerp

18 May 2019 - 01 September 2019

Sveta Shuvaeva is born in 1986 in Bugulma, Tatarstan (Russia). In 2003 she starts studies at the Samara State University of Architecture and Civil Engineering. From 2008, she takes classes at the unofficial contemporary art academy of the Russian artist and curator Vladimir Logutov. From 2011 to 2016, she works in the collective studio of Vladimir Smirnov and Konstantin Sorokin in Moscow. In 2013 she opens the Svetlana Gallery, her own gallery in a cupboard in her apartment. Sveta Shuvaeva utilises different media: drawing, collage, painting, sculpture and installations.

In her installations, Sveta Shuvaeva opens a dialogue about political, economic and social trends. She creates imaginary situations in which the viewer becomes part of the installation. Her works are functional and performative, they are layered and critical. In her oeuvre, she focuses on the tension that exists in Russia between the new freedom that is neo-liberal and capitalist in nature, and the utopia of the equality of communism, where the economy is not driven by supply and demand but rather by production, under the constant watchful eye of the bureaucratic apparat.

Shuvaeva has detached herself from the Soviet and post-Soviet styles, and has developed her own vernacular. She employs an aesthetic that is reminiscent of Constructivism and Minimalism, with many references to Pop Art. She often incorporates banal consumer goods into her art, to which she adds irony, the use of stereotypical symbols, collages and advertising, and the reproduction of everyday objects in unusual materials, all of which refer to Pop Art. In addition, there are also direct links with Dadaism, in which coincidence, text and readymades function as key elements.

The title of the installation Lake View Limited Offer is a literal quote from an advertising campaign for the sale of real estate. The marketing strategy is obvious: luring people in through the promise of a paradisiacal life while at the same time pressuring the potential buyer to respond quickly. The installation is an architectural structure, a reproduction of the type of office space that allows bureaucracy to flourish. A space that refers to counter rooms, counters, cash registers. The empty corridor with counters is a paper replica, a duplicate. The counters, a socket, a ventilation grille, a door, ... they are all made of paper, to such precision that one hardly notices that they are replicas. Sveta Shuvaeva has created an illusion.

Lake View Limited Offer is like a cross between an absurd public space and a paper fata morgana. After all, this is not a functional building, but a fragile reproduction of an office made out of paper walls and a wooden framework. The space, moreover, has also lost its functional meaning because there are no staff present, there is no one to help visitors. Both the structure and its function are illusory. It gives Shuvaeva the opportunity to depict bureaucracy in its Kafkaesque form. This is, so it seems, the last chance to buy an ideal property. But then it appears that there is no possibility of buying anything. The dream the artist presents is unattainable, but precisely this creates room for the viewer's own imagination.

In addition to the installation Lake View Limited Offer, the exhibition also presents a series of graphic and visual works by Sveta Shuvaeva.

Items View all

Media View all

Actors View all

Sveta Shuvaeva – Lake View Limited Offer

Sveta shuvaeva lake view limited offer  43 %282%29

Event

M HKA, Antwerp

18 May 2019 - 01 September 2019

Sveta Shuvaeva est née en 1986 à Bugulma, en République du Tatarstan (Russie). En 2003, elle part étudier l’Architecture et le Génie civil à l’Université d’État de Samara. À partir de 2008, elle suit des cours à l’académie non officielle d’art contemporain dirigée par l’artiste et commissaire d’expositions russe Vladimir Logutov. De 2011 à 2016, elle travaille à l’atelier collectif de Vladimir Smirnov et Konstantin Sorokin à Moscou. En 2013, elle ouvre sa galerie, la Svetlana Gallery, dans une armoire de son appartement. La pratique artistique de Sveta Shuvaeva englobe différents médias : le dessin, le collage, la peinture, la sculpture et l’installation.

Dans ses installations, Sveta Shuvaeva engage un dialogue sur les tendances politiques, économiques et sociales. Elle crée des situations imaginaires dans lesquelles le spectateur fait partie intégrante de l’installation. Ses œuvres fonctionnelles et performatives, stratifiées et critiques se focalisent sur la tension qui existe en Russie entre, d’une part, une nouvelle liberté – toutefois néolibérale et capitaliste – et d’autre part, l’utopie égalitaire du communisme – où non pas l’offre et la demande mais la production dirige l’économie – et son corollaire : un appareil bureaucratique toujours aux aguets.

Shuvaeva s’est libérée des styles soviétiques et post-soviétiques et a développé son idiolecte personnel. Outre une esthétique qui fait penser au constructivisme et au minimalisme, elle fait abondamment référence au pop art : ainsi elle intègre à son art de banals objets de consommation, des collages et des publicités, de l’ironie, des symboles stéréotypés et des reproductions d’objets quotidiens dans des matériaux inhabituels. Par ailleurs, on peut également établir un lien direct avec le dadaïsme dans lequel le hasard, le texte et les ready-made jouent notamment un rôle.

Le titre de l’installation Lake View Limited Offer est une citation littérale de slogan publicitaire d’agence immobilière. La stratégie de marketing est évidente : appâter des gens en leur faisant miroiter une vie paradisiaque et à la fois mettre le client potentiel sous pression pour qu’il réagisse rapidement. L’installation se compose d’une structure architecturale qui est une reproduction d’un espace de travail où peut se déployer la bureaucratie. Un espace qui renvoie aux salles de guichets, aux comptoirs d’accueil, aux caisses. Le couloir vide aux guichets est une réplique en papier, une copie. Les guichets, la prise électrique, la grille de ventilation, la porte… Tout est fait de papier, avec une telle précision qu’on ne remarque presque pas qu’il s’agit de reproductions. Sveta Shuvaeva a créé une illusion.

Lake View Limited Offer tient à la fois d’un espace public absurde et d’un mirage de papier. Il ne s’agit pas d’un bâtiment fonctionnel, mais d’une reproduction fragile d’un bureau aux parois en papier étayées par un châssis en bois. En outre, l’espace a perdu sa signification fonctionnelle, car aucun employé n’est présent, personne n’est là pour nous aider. Aussi bien la structure que le fonctionnement sont illusoires. Cela permet à Shuvaeva de représenter la bureaucratie kafkaïenne. Ceci est soi-disant l’occasion ultime d’acquérir l’habitation idéale. Mais il s’avère qu’il n’y a aucune possibilité d’acheter quelque chose. Le rêve qui a été nourri est inaccessible, mais en même temps il permet l’émergence d’un espace pour l’imagination personnelle.

Outre l’installation Lake View Limited Offer, l’exposition montre aussi une série d’œuvres graphiques et visuelles de Sveta Shuvaeva.

Items View all

Media View all

Actors View all

Ensembles View all