Jimmie Durham – A Matter of Life and Death and Singing

Jd affiche a2 print

Event

M HKA, Antwerpen

25 May 2012 - 18 November 2012

In the spring of 2012, the M HKA brought a major retrospective of the work of Jimmie Durham. The US-born artist settled permanently in Europe in 1994, after a turbulent period in which he alternated his artistic practice with an activist’s life in the American Indian Movement. His work is profound, yet accessible, political and personal, both on trend and beyond the prevailing trends. He asks uncomfortable questions about life and exerts a great influence on several generations of artists, curators, theorists and art lovers worldwide.

The M HKA brought the most complete survey of his work to date. The exhibition extensively highlighted his practice as an activist, essayist, poet, performance artist and sculptor, and devoted considerable attention to work from the 60s never previously shown in Europe and documentary material. The exhibition also subsequently travelled to different locations in Europe and Mexico.

A Matter of Life and Death and Singing mirrored Durham's seriousness and intellect, his aesthetic and political commitment, his inventive opposition to the architecture and other symbols of the state. It was all part of Durham's uncompromising commitment to what he calls the "thinking process of man."

Items View all

Media View all

Actors View all

Jimmie Durham – Une question de vie et de mort et de chanter

Jd affiche a2 print

Event

M HKA, Antwerpen

25 May 2012 - 18 November 2012

Commissaires de l’exposition: Bart De Baere, Anders Kreuger

 

Au printemps 2012, le M HKA a réalisé une rétrospective à grande échelle de l’œuvre de Jimmie Durham. Cet artiste, né aux Etats-Unis, s’est établi définitivement en Europe en 1994, après avoir vécu une période turbulente dans laquelle il alternait la pratique artistique et le militantisme actif dans le mouvement américain-indien. Son œuvre est profonde et accessible, politique et personnelle, du moment même et au-delà des tendances courantes. Il pose des questions aiguës sur l’existence et exerce une grande influence sur plusieurs générations d’artistes, commissaires d’exposition, théoriciens et d’amateurs d’art dans le monde entier.

Le M HKA a présenté l’aperçu de son œuvre le plus complet jusqu’à présent. L’exposition a mis explicitement en lumière sa pratique d’activiste, essayiste, poète, artiste de performance et sculpteur, et elle a accordé une attention particulière à des œuvres jamais montrées – en Europe – des années soixante et à du matériel documentaire. L’exposition a ensuite été organisée à différents endroits en Europe et au Mexique.

A matter of life and death and singing reflétait le sérieux et l’intellect de Durham, son engagement esthétique et politique, sa résistance inventive à l’architecture et à d’autres symboles de l’Etat. Tout cela faisait partie de sa participation définitive à ce qu’il appelle ‘le processus de réflexion de l’homme’.

Items View all

Media View all

Actors View all