INBOX: Maen Florin – Sculptures

1e voorkeur

Event

M HKA, Antwerp

14 April 2017 - 07 May 2017

M HKA reserves its fifth floor for surprising interventions and intimate pop-up presentations. INBOX is a place that inspires and surprises, one that offers us a glimpse into the world of passionate thinkers and doers. With INBOX, M HKA creates a physical space in which the museum addresses often-recurring questions.

In the periods between the various events, we present a selection of our collection works, with particular attention to video art.

INBOX can be visited for free.

Maen Florin’s sculptures would appear to want to remain silent; often they have their eyes closed or looking off to the side, pretending not to see you. Once you’ve noticed this, you inevitably come to the conclusion that her works are ‘anthropomorphic’. They have human traits, but also some ‘inhuman’ ones; they usually have strange physical shapes – large ears, long noses, twisted mouths, closed eyes, misshapen limbs and crooked torsos… The figures stem from less cheerful fairy tales, uncomfortable dreams and mild nightmares.

The sculptures were made from clay, various fabrics, plaster, epoxy glue, polyurethane, and in the past years more frequently of ceramics. They are presented on the floor, on plinths or on tables and appear to stare blankly ahead, murmuring soundlessly, with an unidentifiable disinterest for the viewer, meaning you and me. The sculptures are down to earth, their size doesn’t create an earthshattering impact, there is no aestheticizing hedonism, nor is there any Hollywood-style machismo or horror. The figures remain humanoid, such as we might see when we step out of our comfort zone and observe what’s failing with an existential unrest. Often the sculptures are painted, as though the colours should evoke a inner (un) rest. Or maybe it camouflages it.

The work of Maen Florin has been previously discussed: her sculptures balance between humour and tragedy, between happy and macabre, between silence and noise, between resignation and aggression, between dream and nightmare, and we could go on creating duo’s of opposites. But one effect is present throughout: mental camouflage. Nothing is what it seems. The sculptures – bodies and heads – don’t reveal themselves easily, they hide. They project your own (un) rest. You see what it is you (don’t) want to see, in an imaginary reflection.

When comparing the work of Maen Florin to that of other contemporary artist, we end up somewhere in the twilight zone between the deafening silence of Juan Muñoz and the noiseless clamor of Paul McCarthy. In the end, what does a strong sculpture achieve? It looks back at the viewer and creates a reaction. But it doesn’t answer, it remains silent and waiting, endlessly if it has to. Looking at the sculptures of Maen Florin is like waiting for something that will never come. The speechlessness is considerably overwhelming.

Marc RUYTERS
February 2017

For more information and photos, please contact:
Bert De Vlegelaer
Press Officer
E bert.devlegelaer@muhka.be 
T +32 (0)3 260 99 91

Media View all

INBOX: Maen Florin – Sculptures

1e voorkeur

Event

M HKA, Antwerp

14 April 2017 - 07 May 2017

Le M HKA réserve le cinquième étage à des interventions surprenantes et à des présentations pop-up intimes. INBOX est un lieu qui inspire et qui surprend, et nous permet de jeter un coup d’œil dans l’univers de penseurs et d’acteurs enthousiastes. Avec INBOX, le M HKA crée un espace pour un certain nombre de questions qui sont souvent posées au musée.

Pendant les périodes entre les différents événements, nous y montrons une sélection d’œuvres de notre collection, en prêtant une attention particulière à l’art vidéo.

L’accès à l’espace INBOX est libre.

Le sculptures de Maen Florin semblent ne pas vouloir parler ; souvent, elles ferment les yeux, détournent le regard. Font semblant de ne pas vous avoir vu. Un tel constat implique inévitablement que les sculptures de Maen Florin ont un aspect « anthropomorphe ». Elles possèdent des traits humains, mais aussi « inhumains », leur anatomie est souvent bizarre : grandes oreilles, long nez, bouche tordue, yeux baissés ou non, membres tors, poitrine creuse… Ce sont des personnages issus de contes pas très joyeux, de rêves inconfortables ou de cauchemars bienveillants.

Les sculptures sont réalisées en terre glaise, différents textiles, plâtre, époxy, polyuréthane, etc. ; de plus en plus souvent en céramique ces dernières années. Elles sont posées au sol, sur des socles ou des tables, semblent regarder dans le vide, marmonner sans bruit, en se désintéressant de manière indéfinissable du spectateur, donc de vous et moi. Les œuvres sont « down to earth », sobres, elles ne nous écrasent pas par leur volume, dénuées autant d’hédonisme esthétisant que de forfanterie et d’horreur hollywoodiennes. Ce sont des figures humanoïdes, comme nous en voyons lorsque nous sortons de notre cocon et que nous contemplons avec une anxiété existentielle l’humanité qui tourne mal. Souvent, elles ont été peintes, comme si leurs couleurs devaient évoquer un certaine (in)quiétude, ou au contraire la masquer.

D’autres l’ont déjà écrit : les sculptures mi-joyeuses, mi-lugubres de Maen Florin se glissent dans l’interstice entre humour et tragique, entre vacarme et silence, entre résignation et agressivité, entre rêve et cauchemar, et d’autres couples de mots pourraient s’ajouter à cette liste. Mais avant toute chose, il y a cet effet de camouflage mental. Rien n’est ce qu’il semble : les sculptures, leurs corps aussi bien que leurs têtes, ne se laissent pas sonder, elles se dérobent. Elles ne font que projeter la propre (in)quiétude du spectateur – nous y revoilà. On voit en elles ce que l’on veut (ou non) y voir, dans un reflet imaginé.

Si nous cherchons à comparer l’œuvre de Maen Florin avec celle d’autres artistes contemporains, nous nous retrouvons quelque part dans la zone crépusculaire entre le silence assourdissant de Juan Muñoz et le vacarme inaudible de Paul McCarthy. En somme, que fait une bonne sculpture, une sculpture forte ? Elle retourne le regard du spectateur, et déclenche quelque chose. Mais elle ne répond pas, elle se tait et attend. Indéfiniment, s’il le faut. Regarder les sculptures de Maen Florin, c’est attendre ce qui ne viendra pas. La stupeur est assez écrasante.

Marc RUYTERS
février 2017

Traduction : Kim Andringa

Pour renseignements et photos, contactez :
Bert De Vlegelaer
Contact de presse
E bert.devlegelaer@muhka.be 
T +32 (0)3 260 99 91

Media View all