IN SITU: Hedwig Houben – SWEEP, TAP, SWOOOOOP

17 sept 2017 3de performance hedwig houben 024

Event

M HKA, Antwerp

18 May 2019 - 25 August 2019

Hedwig Houben’s artworks consider our relationship to objects, particularly how we live with them, and how they might play a role in the formation of our selfhood. Her videos document performances that often present the artist talking from the perspective of the third person in dialogue with both herself and the sculpture she is making. The resulting sculptures, often made from material such as plasticine, have the appearance of being unusual transitory forms, with ascribed personalities such as ‘It’, ‘The Hand’ or ‘The Other’. This dialogue between each character – narrator, artist and object – is ultimately the central subject of the work, opening up ideas about personal subjectivity.

For her exhibition at M HKA, which will be her first solo exhibition in Belgium, Houben is presenting a new series of works, alongside recent projects. A new work titled Phewzlopffffffff (2019) is a performance and script comprising a dialogue on the relations between a set of characters – a series of plaster sculptures named ‘Homer’, a character called ‘Body’ performed by the artist, and the audience in a role named ‘X’. This new project is exhibited together with the recent work De Freule en de Gladiool (The Mistress and the Gladiola) (2017), which documents the spectrum of emotions felt by the artist’s parents-in-law after being given the challenge of living with a conspicuous artwork the artist inserted in their home, and the work Borborygmus (2017) based on a performance using onomatopoeic noises to portray the internal digestion of her character ‘I’.

Hedwig Houben lives and works in Brussels. Her artistic training took place at AKV/St. Joost, Breda (2002-2006); Art Academy Düsseldorf (2006-2007); and the Higher Institute for Fine Arts Flanders (HISK) (2010-2011). Houben was recipient of the Charlotte Köhler Prize in 2017. Her previous solo exhibitions have included: You and I, Spike Island, Bristol (2016) and The Hand, the Eye and It, 1646, The Hague (2013). Group exhibitions include: Lofoten Biennial, Lofoten (2015); UnScene, Wiels, Brussels (2015); Don’t You Know Who I Am? Art After Identity Politics, M HKA, Antwerp (2014); and Six Possibilities for a Sculpture, La Loge, Brussels (2013).

Performance: 19 May, 2pm, as part of Antwerp Art Weekend

Official Opening: 6 June 2019

Media View all

IN SITU: Hedwig Houben – SWEEP, TAP, SWOOOOOP

17 sept 2017 3de performance hedwig houben 024

Event

M HKA, Antwerp

18 May 2019 - 25 August 2019

Les œuvres de Hedwig Houben observent notre relation aux objets et en particulier la façon dont nous cohabitons avec eux et dont ils pourraient jouer un rôle dans le façonnement de notre individualité. Ses vidéos documentent des performances lors desquelles l’artiste parle souvent à partir de la perspective d’une tierce personne, en dialogue à la fois avec elle-même et avec la sculpture qu’elle est en train de réaliser. Les sculptures en question, fréquemment façonnées dans des matériaux comme de la pâte à modeler, présentent l’apparence de formes transitoires inhabituelles auxquelles Houben attribue des personnalités comme le pronom indéfini « It », « The Hand », « The Other », etc. Ce dialogue entre chaque personnage – le narrateur, l’artiste et l’objet – est finalement le sujet central de son œuvre, qui développe ainsi des idées à propos de la subjectivité personnelle.

Pour son exposition au M HKA – sa première exposition individuelle dans un musée belge –, Houben présente une série d’œuvres nouvelles ainsi que des projets récents. Phewzlopffffffff (2019) est une performance dont le scénario sous forme de dialogue porte sur les relations entre une série de personnages – des sculptures en plâtre du nom de « Homer » –, un personnage qui répond au nom de « Body » – que l’artiste interprète – et le public dont le nom de rôle est « X ». Ce nouveau projet est exposé avec l’œuvre récente De Freule en de Gladiool [La Noble Dame et le Glaïeul] (2017) qui illustre le spectre d’émotions que les beaux-parents de l’artiste ont éprouvées après avoir relevé le défi de vivre avec une œuvre très présente que l’artiste a insérée dans leur maison, et Borborygmus [Borborygmes] (2017) qui s’inspire d’une performance dans laquelle des onomatopées brossent le portrait de la digestion intestinale de son propre personnage, « I ».

Hedwig Houben vit et travaille à Bruxelles. Elle a entamé sa formation artistique l’AKV/St. Joost, à Breda (2002-2006), ensuite elle l’a poursuivie à l’Académie des Beaux-Arts de Düsseldorf (2006-2007) et à l’Institut supérieur des Beaux-Arts (HISK) à Gand (2010-2011). Houben est lauréate du prix Charlotte Köhler 2017. Parmi ses expositions individuelles précédentes, on peut citer : You and I, Spike Island, Bristol (2016) et The Hand, the Eye and It, 1646, La Haye (2013). Elle a participé, entre autres, aux expositions de groupes : Lofoten Biennial, Lofoten (2015) ; UnScene, Wiels, Bruxelles (2015) ; Don’t You Know Who I Am? Art After Identity Politics, M HKA, Anvers (2014) et Six Possibilities for a Sculpture, La Loge, Bruxelles (2013).

Performance : le 19 mai à 14h00, dans le cadre d’Antwerp Art Weekend

Inauguration officielle : le 6 juin 2019

Media View all