M HKA gaat digitaal

Met M HKA Ensembles zetten we onze eerste échte stappen in het digitale landschap. Ons doel is met behulp van nieuwe media de kunstwerken nog beter te kaderen dan we tot nu toe hebben kunnen doen.

We geven momenteel prioriteit aan smartphones en tablets, m.a.w. de in-museum-ervaring. Maar we zijn evenzeer hard aan het werk aan een veelzijdige desktop-versie. Tot het zover is vind je hier deze tussenversie.

M HKA goes digital

Embracing the possibilities of new media, M HKA is making a particular effort to share its knowledge and give art the framework it deserves.

We are currently focusing on the experience in the museum with this application for smartphones and tablets. In the future this will also lead to a versatile desktop version, which is now still in its construction phase.

Exhibition: IN SITU: Cevdet Erek – AAAAA

M HKA, Antwerpen

20 January 2018 - 29 April 2018

Cevdeterek heroitem image: © M HKA

The IN SITU programme at M HKA offers medium-scale monographic exhibitions by significant early- and mid-career artists from around the world. It focuses on the commissioning of new works, foregrounding experimental practices in what is M HKA’s largest and most atypical exhibition space.

With works based on experience and perception, particularly of place, time and rhythm, Cevdet Erek’s practice might be considered an investigation into the politics of space. An artist with a background in architecture as well as music, Erek has often worked site-specifically in non-art spaces as part of his natural territory. His installation series Room of Rhythms which began in 2012 for Documenta 13 in a disused department store being a key example, followed more recently by his major project ÇIN for the Pavilion of Turkey at the Venice Biennale in 2017. For his exhibition at M HKA, Erek has developed an experimental project that takes the core facets of his practice into a new material investigation.

Along with numerous site visits to Antwerp, Erek has also traced back impressions and experiments from a month’s work period in the city in 2009. At the heart of the  installation is a new typographical work the artist has created, formed through translating the geometric grammar of the façades of terraced homes found in the city that resemble the letter “A”, into something we read as language. As well as inspiring the title of the exhibition – AAAAA – these façades are presented as life-size graphic paintings on the walls of the gallery. These letters resemble the comic-book style for the visualisation of sounds, as if they are coming from the city and into the museum via the window.

Erek is interested in the relations between the spaces inside and outside the museum, also looking at the presence of “street furniture” – barriers, bollards and advertisement boards – in the street just beyond the exhibition space. The project brings such functional “readymade” items into a formation within the exhibition space that mirrors literally that of the outside. The exhibition seeks to raise questions about the role of objects in human mediation, contrasting the mode used by one public infrastructure – the municipal mediation of the street – and that of another – the psychologically mediated ‘attention economy’ of the museum. The outer world of the street and the inner world of the exhibition space have an uncanny relationship, where the logic of objects in one space become alien in the other.

The exhibition includes two toy-like sculptural archetypes based on the classic form of a van. Made of Corten steel which oxidises over time, one van is parked outside the museum, and one inside the gallery.

Cevdet Erek is based in Istanbul. 

The exhibition is curated by Nav Haq, Senior Curator at M HKA.

SAHA provided support for the production of the new work by Cevdet Erek.

Hide this description

2018 in situ cevdet erek photo m hkacc 32

> Cevdet Erek, AAAAA, 2018. Installation, street furniture, paint, corten steel , variable dimensions.

M HKA gaat digitaal

Met M HKA Ensembles zetten we onze eerste échte stappen in het digitale landschap. Ons doel is met behulp van nieuwe media de kunstwerken nog beter te kaderen dan we tot nu toe hebben kunnen doen.

We geven momenteel prioriteit aan smartphones en tablets, m.a.w. de in-museum-ervaring. Maar we zijn evenzeer hard aan het werk aan een veelzijdige desktop-versie. Tot het zover is vind je hier deze tussenversie.

M HKA goes digital

Embracing the possibilities of new media, M HKA is making a particular effort to share its knowledge and give art the framework it deserves.

We are currently focusing on the experience in the museum with this application for smartphones and tablets. In the future this will also lead to a versatile desktop version, which is now still in its construction phase.

Exposition: IN SITU: Cevdet Erek – AAAAA

M HKA, Antwerpen

20 January 2018 - 29 April 2018

Cevdeterek heroitem image: © M HKA

Le programme IN SITU du M HKA propose des expositions monographiques à échelle moyenne d’artistes importants du monde entier, en début ou en milieu de carrière. Le programme se concentre sur la commande de nouvelles œuvres et la mise en exergue de pratiques expérimentales dans l’espace d’exposition le plus vaste et le plus atypique du M HKA.

Avec des œuvres autour de l’expérience et de la perception, en particulier du lieu, du temps et du rythme, la pratique de Cevdet Erek peut être considérée comme une étude de la politique de l’espace. En tant qu’artiste aux antécédents aussi bien dans l’architecture que dans la musique, Erek a souvent travaillé in situ dans des espaces qui n’ont pas de fonction artistique spécifique, mais qui font partie de son territoire naturel. Son installation Room of Rhythms, commencée en 2012 pour Documenta 13 dans un grand magasin désaffecté, en est un exemple clé, qu’il a d’ailleurs poursuivi récemment par son projet majeur ÇIN pour le pavillon turc de la Biennale de Venise 2017. Pour son exposition au M HKA, Erek a élaboré un projet expérimental qui amène les aspects cruciaux de sa pratique à examiner un nouveau matériau.

Outre de multiples visites à Anvers, Erek a également retracé des impressions éprouvées et des expériences vécues au cours d’un mois de travail dans la ville en 2009. Au cœur de l’installation que l’artiste a créée, on trouve une nouvelle œuvre typographique constituée de la traduction de la grammaire géométrique de façades d’immeubles en terrasse qui ressemblent à la lettre « A ». Une transposition que nous lisons comme un langage. Outre le fait d’avoir inspiré à Erek le titre de l’exposition – AAAAA –, ces façades anversoises seront présentées sous forme de peintures graphiques grandeur nature sur les murs de l’espace d’exposition. Ces lettres ressemblent au style de la bande dessinée quand elle cherche à visualiser des sons, comme s’ils venaient de la ville et entraient au musée par la fenêtre.

Erek s’intéresse aux rapports entre les espaces intérieurs et extérieurs du musée. Il observe également l’aménagement – barrières, bornes, panneaux de signalisation – de la rue située juste à l’arrière de l’espace d’exposition. Son projet intègre de tels « ready-made » fonctionnels à une composition dans l’espace d’exposition qui reflète littéralement celle de l’extérieur. L’exposition tente de soulever la question du rôle des objets dans la médiation humaine, en soulignant le contraste entre le mode d’utilisation d’une infrastructure publique – la médiation municipale de la rue – face à une autre – la médiation psychologique muséale d’une « économie de l’attention ». Le monde extérieur de la rue et le monde intérieur de l’espace d’exposition entretiennent une relation étrange dans laquelle la logique des objets diffère totalement d’un espace à l’autre.

L’exposition inclura également deux archétypes sculpturaux à l’aspect de jouet, inspirés de la forme classique d’une camionnette, réalisés en corten. L’un est garé à l’extérieur du musée, l’autre à l’intérieur de la salle d’exposition.

Cevdet Erek vit et travaille à Istanbul.

L’exposition est organisée par Nav Haq, commissaire d’expositions au M HKA.

Avec le soutien de SAHA.

Cacher cette description

2018 in situ cevdet erek photo m hkacc 32

> Cevdet Erek, AAAAA, 2018. Installation, street furniture, paint, corten steel , variable dimensions.