Immortality Forever – Evgeny Antufiev

Evgeny antufiev communicatiebeeld

Event

M HKA, Antwerpen

27 April 2017 - 03 September 2017

M HKA calls itself a Eurasian museum and so it also pays sustained attention to art from the former Soviet space. The latter also has an Asian dimension, as demonstrated by this commitment for Evgeny Antufiev, an artist from Tuva, a republic which sees itself as being the heart of Asia, while remaining part of the Russian Federation. This acquisition is a result of the long-term collaboration with the V-A-C Foundation. A part of that foundation is the programme Present Continuous, with purchases of work of the laureate, donated to the M HKA with the aim of showing the new generation of Russian artists to the world. In similar fashion, the collection has been enriched with works by Olga Chernycheva, Taus Makhacheva and Sasha Pirogova.

Antufiev interweaves elements from Russian (folk) culture with collective historical memory and personal recollections. He is best known for his extraordinary sculptures, yet it are his installations that best show how he constructs a new history that is at the same time mythologizing and real. Video art, embroidery, prints, photographs and objects question the essence of common cultural symbols, as well as their immortality.

This space brings together the two ensembles M HKA has in its care. Immortality forever gathers reflections about the legendary ballerina Anna Pavlova, including a real rose and porcelain replicas of different versions of the Pavlova dessert, named after her. The Russian writer Leo Tolstoy is evoked in – on the one hand – a collection of postcards of his forest grave and – on the other – a video of an encounter of this international branched family at their family castle.

Items View all

Media View all

Actors View all

Immortalité éternelle – Evgeny Antufiev

Evgeny antufiev communicatiebeeld

Event

M HKA, Antwerpen

27 April 2017 - 03 September 2017

Le M HKA se qualifie de musée eurasiatique et en cette qualité, le musée porte une attention durable à l’art de l’ancienne sphère d’influence soviétique. Celle-ci a donc également une dimension asiatique, comme le prouve cet engagement pour l’artiste Evgeny Antufiev, originaire de Tuva, une république qui se considère comme le cœur de l’Asie et fait toujours partie de la Fédération de Russie. Cette acquisition est le fruit d’une collaboration continue avec la fondation V-A-C. Une collaboration dans laquelle s’inscrit le programme Present Continuous et la donation de l’œuvre du lauréat de ce prix au M HKA en vue de faire découvrir au monde le travail de la nouvelle génération d’artistes russes. La collection a déjà pu ainsi s’enrichir d’œuvres d’Olga Chernycheva, de Taus Makhacheva et de Sasha Pirogova.

Antufiev brasse des éléments de la culture russe (populaire), de la mémoire historique collective et des souvenirs personnels. Il est le plus connu pour ses sculptures particulières, mais dans ses installations, on reconnaît sa façon de tisser une nouvelle histoire qui relève à la fois de la mythologisation et de la réalité. Art vidéo, broderies, gravures, photographies et objets interrogent la quintessence des symboles culturels communs et en même temps leur immortalité.

Dans cet espace sont réunis deux ensembles que le M HKA conserve. Immortalité éternelle rassemble des réflexions sur la danseuse légendaire Anna Pavlova, entre autres, à travers une rose vivante et des répliques en porcelaine de plusieurs versions du célèbre dessert qui porte son nom. L’écrivain russe Léon Tolstoï est évoqué d’une part par une collection de cartes postales de sa tombe au fond de la forêt et d’autre part, par une vidéo d’une rencontre de cette famille aux ramifications internationales dans la demeure ancestrale.

Items View all

Media View all

Actors View all