AMVK

Amvk small

Event

M HKA, Antwerp

09 February 2018 - 13 May 2018

“In opposition to the arbitrary, which is the origin of every written and spoken language, I have placed the unspoken, the mystic. From despair to ecstasy, that is what the mystic is about now. This is the all-devouring lust for life and love. Unification, not feeling separated from the rest. No ego, no boundaries. Creation becomes one with its creator. I call it the analogue. The analogue versus the arbitrary. The analogue is ritual, evil, mystery, desire, yearning, lust, while the digital is control, technology, sublimation, dependence, cleanliness, transparency. The analogue plus the digital is what humans are about: perspective.”

Anne-Mie Van Kerckhoven, Some Sort of Manifesto, 2016–17

Anne-Mie Van Kerckhoven (also known as AMVK) is an artist of singular complexity. Born in 1951 in Antwerp, where she still lives and works, she has been active since the 1970s as a visual artist, graphic designer and performer. She has always been a pioneer. She should, first and foremost, be considered an artist for the future.

AMVK’s practice is truly interdisciplinary. Her first arena was drawing. She has collaborated with cutting-edge scientists for more than 40 years. In 1981, she and the artist Danny Devos founded the noise band Club Moral, which performed actively for ten years. It was revived in 2001. Under the same title, the pair organised numerous events in Antwerp until 1993. They have also published the magazine Force Mental since 1982.

Such collaborations aside, self-organisation and self-analysis are fundamental to AMVK’s work. Her creative commitment to artificial intelligence and other contemporary manifestations of mysticism cannot be disentangled from her social thought and political engagement. She always endeavours to articulate the self with merciless honesty and directness.

AMVK’s works are constellations of imagery and text. To make them she uses the materials, tools and tricks of commercial graphics: Plexiglas, computers, professional-grade printing.

AMVK has had significant international exposure in recent years. This survey is an extended version of her exhibition What Would I Do in Orbit?, shown at the Museum Abteiberg in Mönchengladbach and at Kunstverein Hannover in 2016–2017. The publication also serves as the catalogue for those two exhibitions, and it is co-published by the three institutions.

The exhibition offers generous glimpses into a vast oeuvre, its visual power and sophistication. It includes hundreds of works, from ink drawings to complex video installations. It wants to show AMVK as an innovator of forms and interpreter of moods – in the bloodstream of society at large.

Curator: Anders Kreuger, Senior Curator M HKA

amvk.ensembles.org
On this website you’ll find a wealth of information about the exhibited works and all other artworks from AMVK’s extensive oeuvre.


The drawings that are on display in the exhibition can be found here.

View the videos that are on display here.

Items View all

Media View all

Actors View all

Ensembles View all

AMVK

Amvk small

Event

M HKA, Antwerp

09 February 2018 - 13 May 2018

« Face à l’arbitraire, qui est à l’origine de chaque langage écrit ou parlé, je place le non-dit, le mystique. Du désespoir à l’extase, voilà ce que couvre la mystique aujourd’hui. Le désir dévorant de vie et d’amour. L’unification, le fait de ne pas se sentir séparé du reste. Sans ego, sans limites. La création se fond avec son créateur. J’appelle cela l’analogique. L’analogique par opposition à l’arbitraire. L’analogique est rituel, malveillance, mystère, désir, envie, luxure, alors que le numérique est contrôle, technologie, sublimation, dépendance, propreté, transparence. L’analogique et le numérique constituent la quintessence humaine : la perspective. »

Anne-Mie Van Kerckhoven, Some Sort of Manifesto, 2016-2017

Anne-Mie Van Kerckhoven (ou AMVK) est une artiste d’une complexité singulière. Née en 1951 à Anvers, où elle vit et travaille toujours, elle est active depuis les années 70 en tant que plasticienne, graphiste et performeuse. Éternelle pionnière, il faut avant tout la considérer comme une artiste futuriste.

AMVK, dont la pratique est véritablement interdisciplinaire, a commencé par le dessin et collabore depuis plus de 40 ans avec des scientifiques de pointe. En 1981, AMVK et l’artiste Danny Devos ont fondé le groupe Club Moral, qui s’est régulièrement produit pendant dix ans, organisant de nombreux événements à Anvers jusqu’en 1993. En 2001, ils ont relancé le groupe sous le même nom. Le duo a par ailleurs publié la revue Force Mental à partir de 1982.

Outre ces collaborations, l’auto-organisation et l’auto-analyse sont des principes fondamentaux de l’œuvre d’AMVK. Son engagement créatif autour de l’intelligence artificielle et d’autres manifestations contemporaines de mysticismes ne peuvent être séparés de sa réflexion sociale et de son engagement politique. Elle s’efforce toujours d’articuler le moi avec une honnêteté et une franchise implacable.

Les œuvres d’AMVK sont des constellations composées d’imagerie et de texte. Pour les réaliser, elle utilise les matériaux, les outils et les astuces du graphisme commercial : plexiglas, techniques informatiques, impressions de qualité professionnelle.

Ces dernières années, AMVK a connu une importante visibilité internationale. Cette rétrospective est une version étendue de son exposition What Would I Do in Orbit ? au Museum Abteiberg à Mönchengladbach et au Kunstverein Hannover en 2016 et 2017. La publication faisant office de catalogue pour ces deux expositions est coéditée par les trois institutions.

Cette exposition offre un aperçu généreux d’une œuvre vaste et riche, de sa force et de sa sophistication visuelle. Elle comprend des centaines d’œuvres, allant de dessins à l’encre à des installations vidéo complexes, afin de présenter AMVK comme une innovatrice de formes et une interprète de tempéraments et des humeurs de la société dans son ensemble.

Commissaire d’exposition : Anders Kreuger, Senior Curator M HKA

amvk.ensembles.org
Sur ce site, vous trouverez une mine d’informations sur les travaux exposés et toutes les autres pièces qui composent le considérable corpus d’œuvres d’AMVK.


Les dessins de l’exposition peuvent être trouvés ici.

Vous pouvez voir les vidéos montrés ici.

Items View all

Media View all

Actors View all

Ensembles View all