Permanent Collection 2017 - 2022 / Library

M hka  photo  m hkacc 6

Ensemble

REMARKABLE PRESENCES     

A collection grows organically. Aside from its main lines and core references, it is also made up of moments and presences that deepen the complexity and contingency of the collection. Amongst the books in the reading room of the library, visitors can discover some of the remarkable presences in the M HKA collection.

Madonna by Koen van den Broek is an abstract interpretation of a work by Jean Fouquet from 1452. The work was the iconic image of the exhibition Meesterwerken in het MAS, which had the visual idiom as its theme.

Compositie met dubbele lijn en blauw vlak (1934) – from the collection of De Vleeshal in Middelburg – is a work by Marlow Moss, the artist influenced by Mondriaan who introduced the double line in Neoplasticism; she found the single line to be too static, anti-rhythmic and definitive. It illustrates a second iconic perspective in the collection, aside from the classical fine arts: the radical early avant-garde.

Mobile Medium University (Floating UIA) is one of Luc Deleu's first architectural proposals. The artist plays with the idea of using three brightly colored aircraft carriers, and filling the ships with the entire study program of the University of Antwerp.

Zonder Titel by Els Dietvorst is part of the monumental installation Skull  - a giant skull of a Neanderthal with teeth in the shape of human figures - which she created in 2015 during the Moscow Biennial. The Neanderthals lived peacefully together with the new immigrants: homo sapiens. The work is a symbol of migration and respect.

Mutation by Erbossyn Meldibekov transforms the classic Lenin bust into an 'art-Lenin' and a 'Central Asian Lenin'. Especially for the M HKA, he has added a 'Lumumba-like Lenin': a 'Belgian Lenin' to the series.

There are numerous other works on view by artists such as, among others, Evgeny Antufiev, Alain Arias-Misson, Charif Benhelima, James Lee Byars, Vaast Colson, Rein Dufait, Jan Fabre, Hans-Peter Feldmann, Robert Filliou, NS Harsha, Suchan Kinoshita, Ivan Kožarić, Bernd Lohaus, Taus Makhacheva, Guy Mees, Jacqueline Mesmaeker, Mkize, Nadia Naveau, Panamarenko, Ria Pacquée, Laure Prouvost, Timothy Segers, Koen Theys, Paul Van Hoeydonck, Anne-Mie van Kerckhoven, Ben Vautier, Xu Zhen and a selection of pre-cinema objects from the Vrielynck collection.

Items View all

Actors View all

Permanent Collection 2017 - 2022 / Library

M hka  photo  m hkacc 6

Ensemble

ŒUVRES MARQUANTES PARMI LES LIVRES

Une collection s’accroît de manière organique. Outre les grandes lignes et les références majeures, elle se compose aussi de moments et de présences qui approfondissent la complexité et les hasards. Outre des livres, on trouve de la salle de lecture un certain nombre d’œuvres marquantes de la collection du M HKA.

Madonna de Koen van den Broek est une interprétation abstraite d’un tableau de Jean Fouquet de 1452, l’œuvre phare de l’exposition Chefs-d’œuvre au MAS, dont le thème était la pensée à travers l’image.

Compositie met dubbele lijn en blauw vlak (1934) – une pièce de la collection du Vleeshal à Middelburg – est une œuvre de Marlow Moss, une artiste influencée par l’œuvre de Mondrian qui a introduit la double ligne dans le néoplasticisme estimant que la ligne simple est statique, arythmique et qu’elle constitue une fermeture. Ce tableau apporte un second point de fuite iconique dans la collection, parallèlement aux beaux-arts classiques : les prémices de l’avant-garde radicale.

Mobile Medium University (Floating UIA) est une des premières propositions architectoniques de Luc Deleu. L’artiste joue avec l’idée d’engager trois porte-avions aux couleurs vives offrant l’ensemble des cursus de l’université d’Anvers.

Sans Titre d’Els Dietvorst est un élément de l’installation monumentale Skull – un crâne géant de Neandertal avec des dents en forme de personnages humains – qu’elle a réalisée durant la Biennale de Moscou 2015. Les hommes de Neandertal ont coexisté pacifiquement avec les nouveaux immigrants sur leur territoire : les homo sapiens. L’œuvre symbolise la migration et le respect de l’Autre.

Mutation d’Erbossyn Meldibekov transforme le buste classique de Lénine en « art Lénine » et en « Lénine d’Asie centrale ». Pour le M HKA, il a ajouté une série « Lénine style Lumumba » : un Lénine belge.

Du reste, nous présentons des œuvres, entre autres, d’Evgeny Antufiev, Alain Arias-Misson, Charif Benhelima, James Lee Byars, Vaast Colson, Rein Dufait, Jan Fabre, Hans-Peter Feldmann, Robert Filliou, NS Harsha, Suchan Kinoshita, Ivan Kožarić, Bernd Lohaus, Taus Makhacheva, Guy Mees, Jacqueline Mesmaeker, Mkize, Nadia Naveau, Panamarenko, Ria Pacquée, Laure Prouvost, Timothy Segers, Koen Theys, Paul Van Hoeydonck, Anne-Mie van Kerckhoven, Ben Vautier, Xu Zhen et une sélection d’objets pre-cinématographiques de la collection Vrielynck.

Items View all

Actors View all