ONDERZOEK / RECHERCHE / RESEARCH / FORSCHUNG

2017 superdemocratie senaat photo m hka 6 27

Ensemble

Research, often limited to the empirical and scientific sphere, refers in fact to any gathering of data initiated by a question. This essential human activity focuses on the human and defies the world. "He who finds has badly searched", said the poet, resolutely focusing on the quest and not on the find. This is the characteristic of many contemporary artists: they explore the world in a personal and original way, their environment, themselves and their practice, and turn this exploration into a work of art.

Political decision-makers rely less and less on intuition and ideology, relying instead on research, expertise and scientific information. Thus, the Senate invites experts to nearly all its activities.


Luc Deleu (°1944, living in Antwerp) transposes Jules Verne's proposal – around the world in 80 days – into a project of systematic spatial analysis. He develops journeys to explore the world by circumventing it; his urban planning perspective takes shape through the societal, geographic and demographic data collected from the entire planet.

In his works, Jacques Charlier (°1939, living in Liège) emphasises the role (artistic) images can play in manipulation. However, using humour and a poetic approach, his work doesn’t become moralising. Thus, starting from the adjective ‘cerebral’, a term often used by art critics, he visualises how the painting refers to the term by adding a ceramic brain.

In the 1970s ORLAN (°1947, living in Paris) measured institutions, streets and squares bearing a masculine name using her own body. How many ‘ORLAN bodies’ do they represent? Her performances go against the saying "the human body is the measure of everything". In her ‘MesuRages’, she expresses her rage against those who do not recognise human difference.

Items View all

Actors View all

ONDERZOEK / RECHERCHE / RESEARCH / FORSCHUNG

2017 superdemocratie senaat photo m hka 6 27

Ensemble

La recherche, souvent confinée à la sphère empirique et scientifique, désigne en fait tout rassemblement de données initié par une question. Cette activité humaine essentielle place l’humain au centre et défie le monde. « Celui qui trouve a mal cherché », disait le poète, plaçant résolument la quête à l’avant-plan et non pas la trouvaille. C’est le propre de  nombre d’artistes contemporains : ils explorent le monde, de manière personnelle et originale, leur environnement, eux-mêmes ainsi que leur pratique et font de cette exploration une œuvre d’art.

Les décideurs politiques se fient de moins en moins à l’intuition et à l’idéologie, au profit de la recherche, de l’expertise, de l’information scientifique. Ainsi, le Sénat entend des experts pour la quasi-totalité de ses activités.


Luc Deleu (°1944, vit à Anvers) transpose la proposition de Jules Verne – le tour du monde en 80 jours – en un projet d’analyse spatiale systématique. Il élabore des trajets permettant d’explorer le monde en en faisant le tour ; il puise sa perspective urbanistique dans les données sociétales, géographiques et démographiques de la planète entière. 

Dans ses œuvres, Jacques Charlier (°1939, vit à Liège) souligne les manipulations que les images peuvent servir, y compris dans le domaine artistique. Toutefois, l’humour et l’évocation poétique évitent à l’œuvre d’apparaître moralisatrice. Ainsi, à partir de l’adjectif « cérébral », souvent utilisé par la critique d’art, il imagine la peinture s’y référant et lui adjoint un cerveau en céramique.

Dans les années 1970, ORLAN (°1947, vit à Paris) a mesuré des institutions, des rues et des places portant un nom masculin à l’aide de son propre corps.  Combien de « corps-ORLAN » représentent-ils ? Ses performances vont à l’encontre de l’adage « le corps humain est la mesure de toute chose ».  Dans ses « MesuRages », elle exprime sa rage face à ceux qui ne reconnaissent pas la différence humaine.

Items View all

Actors View all