Money en de kunstwereld [Money and the art world]

Jf money perf 02

Ensemble

During several of his early performances, Jan Fabre attempts to make his mark on art history, critically reflecting on the work of art as commercial commodity.  He also casts a critical eye on the art world's prevailing laws, and charts the ambiguous position occupied by money within our contemporary society.  In his very first performance - in reaction to art-school traditions - Fabre turns classical paintings upside down and clads them with a text reading: "You have to take everything seriously, but not tragically so."

When Jan Fabre, during the course of Money Performance, rips up, eats and finally burns the entry-receipts, the furious public storms the stage.  Also, with his The Rea(dy)make of the Money Performance, where the artist makes an exhibition with the money collected, and walks around in a suit made of money while stuffing the rest in his pockets, the public's reaction is less than enthusiastic.

At the opening of their exhibition The Essential Multiple, Jan Fabre and Erik Vermeulen ask members of the public for an entry fee.  A signed receipt is given, stapled and then handed back as a multiple made by the artists.  During the opening of an exhibition in Turnhout, Fabre goes around with a bag on his head that reads 'Buy at Jan Fabre'.

The same themes are again taken up during Jan Fabre's stay in the United States.  With After Art he investigates what it means it means to be a young artist on a public platform.  For The Killing of J.F.K., he shoots at a dollar coin bearing Kennedy's image.  The Creative Hitler Act sees Fabre explore the role of artist as dictator, and who as absolute ruler determines which language is to be used.  The relationship between artist and art critic is further examined in Art as a Gamble, Gamble as an Art.  When Fabre calls into question the critic's position within the world of art by symbolically torturing the philosopher Lars A. Mogensen with art-related attributes, a member of the public calls the cops.  On New York's Park Avenue, Fabre together with artist colleague Anson Seeno try to sell passers-by drawings on dollar bills and bags of salt as art works.  When his proposal to have art critics shoot at him in a manner of Russian roulette the organizers refuse, and Fabre's reaction to this results in his piece It's Kill or Cure

Items View all

Actors View all

Money en de kunstwereld [Money and the art world]

Jf money perf 02

Ensemble

[L’argent et le monde de l’art]

Lors de différentes performances de ses débuts, Jan Fabre tente de s’inscrire dans l’histoire de l’art, de réfléchir de manière critique à l’œuvre d’art en tant que produit marchand, d’émettre des critiques sur les lois en vigueur dans le monde l’art et d’aborder la position ambivalente qu’occupe l’argent dans notre société. Lors de sa toute première performance, Jan Fabre présente, sens dessous dessus, des tableaux classiques qu’il a lui-même peints, en réaction à l’Académie, et les recouvre du texte : « Il faut tout prendre au sérieux, mais pas au tragique. »

Quand Jan Fabre déchire, mange et brûle finalement les billets payés pour assister à sa Money Performance, le public, furieux, envahit la scène. Fabre fait à nouveau enrager le public avec The Rea(dy)make of the Money Performance, dans laquelle l’artiste monte une exposition avec l’argent encaissé, se pavane dans un costume confectionné avec des billets de banque et empoche finalement l’argent qui reste.

Pendant le vernissage de leur exposition The Essential Multiple, Jan Fabre et Erik Vermeulen font payer l’entrée. Puis ils signent le billet, l’agrafent et le remettent en tant que multiple. Au vernissage d’une exposition à Turnhout, Fabre se promène avec sur la tête un cabas qui porte le message : « Achetez chez Fabre ».

Lors de son séjour aux États-Unis, Jan Fabre aborde également les mêmes thèmes. Durant After Art, il analyse ce que signifie être un jeune artiste sur une plateforme publique. Pour The Killing of J.F.K, il tire sur une pièce de monnaie états-unienne à l’effigie de Kennedy. Creative Hitler Act explore le rôle de l’artiste en tant que dictateur qui, en bon potentat, détermine quel langage il utilise. Dans Art as a Gamble, Gamble as an Art, Fabre évoque la relation entre l’artiste et le critique d’art. Quand il remet en question la position du critique d’art en torturant symboliquement le philosophe Lars A. Mogensen avec des attributs artistiques, un membre du public appelle la police. Sur Park Avenue, à New York, Fabre et son ami artiste Anson Seeno essaient de vendre à des passants des dessins sur des billets de dollar et des sachets de sel comme de l’art plastique. En réaction au refus de l’organisateur d’une exposition du projet de performance qui consistait en une sorte de roulette russe dans laquelle des critiques d’art devaient tirer sur l’artiste, Fabre réalise It’s Kill or Cure.

Items View all

Actors View all