MOBILITEIT / MOBILITE / MOBILITY / MOBILITÄT

2017 superdemocratie senaat photo m hka 6 47

Ensemble

From a technocratic point of view, the term ‘mobility’ refers to road works, trucks, trains and airports. But mobility is also an existential phenomenon, both human and social. For alongside the mechanised ballet of our society, there is, more and more predominantly, our own ephemeral and nomadic feeling of existence, as well as the frustrating blockages and forced displacements of a fleeting world.

In an information report, the Senate made recommendations for more integrated public transportation, including a single ticket for the country and more intermodal transport.


In her video featuring short film clips edited together, Ria Pacquée (°1954, Antwerp) zaps between West and East, North and South. She thus confronts impressions of human actions – a sand storm in Morocco and a walk, with a headwind, of an elderly woman on the Belgian seaside – and questions: how to make the invisible visible?

A recurring figure in Johan Muyle’s works (°1956, living in Liège), the skeleton refers to the cycle of life and death, tragicomically, as in popular culture. Bearing the artist's head, they are motorised and mechanised, in a desperate attempt to replay the race from life to death.

The works of Johanna Kandl (°1954, living in Vienna) evoke the difficult living conditions in border regions. But it addresses the prosaic reality of contemporary news media through traditional historical painting. This monumental painting questions the rushed transition to capitalism, which was a harrowing experience for many in the former Eastern Bloc: “Who’s got the big picture?”.

Items View all

Actors View all

MOBILITEIT / MOBILITE / MOBILITY / MOBILITÄT

2017 superdemocratie senaat photo m hka 6 47

Ensemble

Le terme « mobilité » évoque, sur le plan technocratique, des travaux routiers, des poids-lourds, des trains et des aéroports. Mais la mobilité est aussi un phénomène existentiel, humain et social. Car à côté du ballet mécanisé de notre société, il y a, de manière de plus en plus prégnante, notre propre sentiment éphémère et nomade d’exister, ainsi que les blocages et les déplacements forcés et frustrants d’un monde en fuite.

Dans un rapport d’information, le Sénat a formulé des recommandations pour des transports publics mieux intégrés, avec, entre autres, un billet unique pour le pays et davantage de transport intermodal.


Dans sa vidéo constituée de courts fragments de films montés ensemble, Ria Pacquée (°1954, Anvers) zappe entre l’Ouest et l’Est, le Nord et le Sud.  Elle confronte ainsi des impressions d'actions humaines – une tempête de sable au Maroc et une promenade, par vent contraire, d’une femme âgée à la Côte belge – et gravite autour de la question : comment rendre l’invisible visible ?

Figure récurrente chez Johan Muyle (°1956, vit à Liège), le squelette fait référence au cycle de la vie et de la mort, sur un mode tragi-comique, comme dans la culture populaire. Affublés de la tête de l’artiste, ils sont motorisés et mécanisés, comme dans une tentative désespérée de rejouer la course de la vie vers la mort.

Les œuvres de Johanna Kandl (°1954, vit à Vienne) traitent des conditions de vie difficiles dans les zones frontalières. Mais elle aborde la réalité prosaïque des médias d’information contemporains par le biais de la peinture historique traditionnelle. Dans cette œuvre monumentale, Kandl questionne la transition accélérée de l’ex-Bloc de l’Est vers le capitalisme, dont beaucoup ont souffert : « qui a la vue d’ensemble ? ». 

Items View all

Actors View all