Sven 't Jolle

Ob 561d71 mlp207581

° 1966

Born in Antwerp (BE), lives in Melbourne (AU).

Sven 't Jolle was born in 1966 in Antwerp, where he studied art at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts from 1986 to 1990. Although his first exhibitions in the early 1990s already attested to a social interest that would remain constant, the current orientation of his thought took root during a trip to the North of France in 1997. ‘t Jolle tells how a crossing of Picardy led him to the village of Saint Leger, which he immediately associated with the French painter Fernand Léger (1881-1955), raised, by the amalgam and humour of 't Jolle, to the status of saint. It was during this Summer that the Forges de Clabecq, a Belgian steel factory located in Tubize, announced that they were closing down, which started a wave of demonstrations. Playing on words, Sven 't Jolle combined the French village, the homonymous painter, and the socio-economic events into the term: ‘tubism’. Tubism, a variant of Cubism proposed by Fernand Léger, lends its sonority, in the spirit of ‘t Jolle, to the social event, which had disrupted Tubize and Belgium

The anecdote illustrates the way Sven 't Jolle constructs his artistic reflection. Starting from sculpture, and sometimes other media as well, the artist reduces the boundary between aesthetics and social commitment. Openly a supporter of the underprivileged, the artist acts within the world of art; his struggle is not isolated from the reality he defends, and the artistic bubble does not constitute a withdrawal for him. The aim is to provoke a reflection on the social, political and economic situation among artists and viewers. In this context, 't Jolle pushes his work towards self-reflection and questions the possibility of a subversive art, which pleads for the working class to the economically privileged art public. The question itself becomes the subject of the work.

After several exhibitions in Flanders and Brussels, Sven 't Jolle exhibited in France and Germany in the late 1990s. He travelled to Middle Eastern countries several times and today lives and works in Melbourne, Australia.

Items View all

Events View all

Ensembles View all

Sven 't Jolle

Ob 561d71 mlp207581

° 1966

Né à Antwerp (BE), vit à Melbourne (AU).

Sven ’t Jolle naît à Anvers, en 1966, où il suit des études artistiques à l’Académie royale des Beaux-Arts de 1986 à 1990. Si ses premières expositions, au début des années 1990, témoignent d’un intérêt social qui lui demeurera constant, la veine actuelle de sa pensée prend racine au cours d’un voyage dans le nord de la France, en 1997. ’T Jolle raconte ainsi qu’une traversée de la Picardie l’a mené au village de Saint Léger, qu’il a immédiatement et machinalement associé au peintre français Fernand Léger (1881-1955), élevé, par l’amalgame et l’humour de ’t Jolle, au statut de saint. C’était en été, au moment où les Forges de Clabecq, une usine sidérurgique belge située dans l’entité de Tubize, annonçaient la fin de leurs activités et provoquaient une vague de manifestations. Jouant sur les mots, Sven ’t Jolle a associé le village français, le peintre homonyme, et les événements socio-économiques autour d’un terme : « tubisme ». Le tubisme, la variante du cubisme qu’avançait Fernand Léger, prête sa sonorité, dans l’esprit de ’t Jolle, à l’événement social qui bouleverse alors Tubize et la Belgique.

L’anecdote illustre la manière dont Sven ’t Jolle construit sa réflexion artistique. À partir de la sculpture surtout, parfois d’autres médiums également, l’artiste amenuise la frontière qui sépare le domaine de l’esthétique de l’engagement social. Ouvertement partisan des classes paupérisées l’artiste agit au sein du monde de l’art ; son combat n’est pas pour autant isolé de la réalité défendue et la bulle artistique ne constitue pas pour lui un retrait. L’objectif est de provoquer chez les artistes et spectateurs une réflexion sur la situation sociale, politique, économique. Dans ce cadre, ’t Jolle pousse son œuvre vers l’autoréflexion et interroge la possibilité d’un art subversif, qui plaide pour la classe ouvrière auprès du public de l’art, économiquement aisé ; l’interrogation elle-même devient aussi le sujet de l’œuvre.

Après plusieurs expositions en Flandre et à Bruxelles, Sven ’t Jolle expose dès la fin des années 1990 en France et en Allemagne. Il voyage à plusieurs reprises dans les pays du Moyen-Orient et vit et travaille aujourd’hui à Melbourne, en Australie.

Items View all

Events View all

Ensembles View all