René Heyvaert

Heyvaert

1929 - 1984

Died in Scheldewindeke (BE), born in Ghent (BE).

René Heyvaert (1929-1984, Ghent, Belgium) studied architecture at the Ghent Saint Lucas Institute where his graduating project was a design for a museum. His architectural oeuvre is limited, but considered important in an international tradition in which American architecture was the standard.

His health played a role in his choice to pursue visual arts, but the defining factor was his reflective attitude. In 1972 he held his first exhibition. A wider appreciation only came after his death. In 'Initiative 86', Kasper König put him at the heart of his selection of Belgian art. Since then, Heyvaert has been a key figure of the country's postwar avant-garde.

His legacy is characterised by basic interventions with a geometric quality in materials like wood, cardboard, metal and everyday objects such as a spoons, shoes, a sweeping brush ... The confrontation between these two emphasises both the immanence of the material and men’s mental and mathematical intervention.

Heyvaert's work is understated and sober, but also subversive and disturbing. It can be described as a fundamental formalism, or even fundamentalism. Contrary to what you might think at first sight, Heyvaert's image objects (drawings, small sculptures, everyday objects) are all but sober and modest Kleinkunst. They answer a very concrete and personal need for meditation and are almost an attempt to dictate the viewer's reaction, as if they were statements that leave no room for skepticism.

Items View all

Events View all

Ensembles View all

René Heyvaert

Heyvaert

1929 - 1984

Décédé en Scheldewindeke (BE), né à Ghent (BE).

René Heyvaert (1929–1984, Gand, Belgique) a fait des études d'architecture à l'Institut Sint-Lucas de Gand, qu'il a clôturées par un projet pour un musée. Son œuvre architectonique est restreinte, mais néanmoins considérée comme importante dans une tradition internationale où l'architecture américaine donnait le ton.

Sa décision de se lancer dans les arts plastiques a été en partie déterminée par son état de santé, mais c'est surtout sa prédisposition à la réflexion qui en a été le moteur. Il réalise sa première exposition en 1972. Ce n'est qu'après sa mort qu'il acquerra une certaine notoriété. Dans la manifestation artistique « Initiatief 86 », Kasper König lui a accordé une place centrale au sein de sa sélection d'œuvres d'art belges. Depuis lors, Heyvaert est considéré comme une figure importante de l'avant-garde belge d'après-guerre.

Son œuvre se caractérise par des interventions de base à caractère géométrique sur divers matériaux – bois, carton, métal – et des objets du quotidien tels qu'une cuillère, des chaussures, un balai, etc. Cette combinaison souligne tant l'immanence de la matière que l'intervention spirituelle et mathématique de l'être humain.

L'œuvre de Heyvaert est restreinte et austère, mais également subversive et troublante. On pourrait la décrire comme du formalisme fondamental, voire comme du fondamentalisme formel. Contrairement à la première impression qu'elles suscitent, les images-objets de Heyvaert (dessins, petites sculptures, objets du quotidien) sont tout sauf de l'art terre à terre, modeste et distrayant, mais répondent à un besoin personnel et très concret de méditation et cherchent presque à dicter une réponse au spectateur, comme s'il s'agissait de théorèmes éliminant toute forme de scepticisme.

Items View all

Events View all

Ensembles View all