Johan Muyle

2017 superdemocratie senaat photo m hka 6 53

° 1956

Born in Charleroi (BE).

After studying art in Charleroi, Namur and Brussels, Johan Muyle settled down in Liège in 1980. He created performances, public actions, objects and installations in a ‘news item’ mode. As of 1985, his production concentrated on what he calls ‘assemblage sculptures’, made from collected objects. They are essentially composed of statuettes, especially religious, which are found on flea markets. The objects found are loaded with a past, a history, a context to which are added the meanings of the other elements assembled in the same sculpture. The ensemble of works made up of contradictory elements tackles the complementarity of differences, be they sociological, philosophical, religious or cultural, and includes both an ethical and a poetic dimension around two notions: the World and the Other.

In the early 90s, the sculptures became animated while leaving their mechanical process visible. As of 1993, Johan Muyle started to make extensive trips to Africa and India. First in Kinshasa, where he made pieces with local artists and craftsmen, and then to Madras, where between 1995 and 2004, he collaborated with poster artists[1]. These created monumental portraits of the artist, which were placed in large devices animated by an electromechanical process. These collaborations reinforced the artist's approach, which advocates cross-breeding as an identity value. The artist's approach tries to highlight issues, not judgments. They are conveyed by his singular sculptures whose poetry and style resist all the clichés of contemporary art. In addition to his artistic activity, Johan Muyle taught contemporary practices at the Ecole des Beaux-Arts in Valenciennes (FR) from 1994 to 2006. Since 2006, he has been director of the Atelier de Sculpture at ENSAV-La Cambre (Brussels).

For example, the work, Non si puo ridere della felicità (One cannot laugh at happiness) emanates from his ‘Indian’ period. The artist used his portrait in order to claim responsibility for the message of the work. It questions the relationship to the world of each individual. Is it better to see nothing, to hear nothing, and to say nothing? Should we passively rely on the fortune-tellers evoked by the device or be active with regard to one’s destiny? The title transforms the famous saying "We cannot laugh at other people’s misfortune" but can we then laugh at their happiness? The work ultimately questions what constitutes happiness in a society that multiplies the needs, conditions the desires and defines the fulfillment by having more than by being. Q(c)hi mangerà, vivrà is part of the same period. Of monumental size, the room invites spectators to put their head in the mouth of the portrayal of the artist. The work starts moving. The eyes of the artist open, the laurels, referring to the myth of Daphne, are activated to the rhythm of the Italian revolutionary song Bella Ciao. This time the title distorts the extract from the Gospel of Jesus Christ according to St. John "I am the living bread that came down from heaven: if any man eats of this bread, he shall live forever."


[1] Reference: MARCELIS, Bernard, Indian Studio 1995-2013. Johan Muyle, Bruxelles, Fonds Mercator, 2013.

Items View all

Events View all

Ensembles View all

Johan Muyle

Pan am book 092 a

° 1956

Né à Charleroi (BE).

Après avoir suivi des études artistiques à Charleroi, Namur et Bruxelles, Johan Muyle s’installe à Liège, en 1980. Il réalise des performances, des actions publiques et crée des objets et installations sur le mode du fait-divers. A partir de 1985, sa production se concentre sur ce qu’il nomme des « sculptures d’assemblages », réalisées à partir d’objets glanés. Elles se composent essentiellement de statuettes, notamment religieuses, que l’on retrouve sur les brocantes. Les objets trouvés sont chargés d’un passé, d’une histoire, d’un contexte auxquels viennent s’ajouter les significations des autres éléments assemblés dans une même sculpture. L’ensemble des œuvres constituées d’éléments contradictoires aborde la complémentarité des différences, qu’elles soient sociologique, philosophique, religieuse ou culturelle, et comporte une dimension tant éthique que poétique sur le monde et sur l’Autre.

Au début des années 90, les sculptures s’animent tout en laissant visible le processus mécanique. Johan Muyle entreprend, à partir de 1993, d’importants séjours en Afrique et en Inde. D’abord à Kinshasa où il réalise des pièces avec des artistes et artisans locaux et, ensuite, à Madras, entre 1995 et 2004, où il collabore avec des affichistes[1]. Ceux-ci réalisent des portraits monumentaux de l’artiste qui sont placés dans d’importants dispositifs animés par un procédé électromécanique. Ces collaborations renforcent le propos de l’artiste qui prône le métissage comme valeur identitaire. La démarche de l’artiste tente de mettre en lumière des questions et non des jugements. Elles sont véhiculées par ses sculptures singulières dont la poésie et le style résistent à tous les poncifs de l’art contemporain. Parallèlement à son activité artistique, Johan Muyle enseigne, de 1994 à 2006, les pratiques contemporaines à l’Ecole des Beaux-Arts de Valenciennes (FR) et dirige, depuis 2006, l’Atelier de Sculpture à l’ENSAV-La Cambre (Bruxelles).

Ainsi, par exemple, l’oeuvre, Non si puo ridere della felicità (On ne peut pas rire du bonheur) émane de sa période « indienne ». L’artiste exploite son portrait afin de revendiquer la responsabilité du propos de l’œuvre. Celle-ci interroge le rapport au monde de chaque individu. Est-il mieux de ne rien voir, ne rien entendre et ne rien dire ? Faut-il passivement se fier aux diseuses de bonne aventure qu’évoque le dispositif ou être actif vis-à-vis de sa destinée ? Le titre transforme le célèbre dicton « On ne peut pas rire du malheur des autres » mais peut-on alors rire de leur bonheur ? L’œuvre questionne in fine ce qui constitue le bonheur dans une société qui multiplie les besoins, conditionne les désirs et définit l’épanouissement par l’avoir plus que par l’être. Q(c)hi mangerà, vivrà fait partie de la même période. De taille monumentale, la pièce invite le spectateur à mettre sa tête dans la bouche du portait de l’artiste. La pièce entre en mouvement. Les yeux de l’artiste s’ouvrent, les lauriers, en référence au mythe de Daphné, s’actionnent au rythme du chant révolutionnaire italien Bella Ciao. Cette fois, le titre détourne la phrase de l’Evangile de Jésus-Christ selon Saint-Jean « Je suis le pain vivant, qui est descendu du ciel : si quelqu’un mange de ce pain, il vivra éternellement. »


[1] Voir à ce sujet : MARCELIS, Bernard, Indian Studio 1995-2013. Johan Muyle, Bruxelles, Fonds Mercator, 2013.

Items View all

Events View all

Ensembles View all